Panther running slowly.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by manchild, Oct 16, 2005.

  1. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    So, i recently aquired 10.3 panther. I put it onto my iBook, and the weird thing is, i got 3CDs, but it only asked for 2, and when i put in the second it didnt recognize it.
    So, i shut down, and booted it normally. The weird thing is it booted in panther, even though i only installed the frist CD.

    So, i said, w/e. Upgraded Quicktime to 7, and up to OS 10.3.9.

    But, it seems like its running pretty slowly, slower than my jaguar was running (10.2.8). Anything i can do? When i run the system loger or w/e, that shows all the programs running, there are a ton of scripts and stuff, i'll take a screen shot. Should there be stuff running besides the programs i'm running (firefox, aim and word)??

    And, its slow, even if i'm just running aim.

    G3, 30gig HD, 384 Ram, 800MHz Processor.

    Thanks a ton, i love the Mac Shack. None of the other mac forums ever give me responses.
     
  2. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    where did you "aquire" it.
     
  3. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    friend got a family pack a while ago, completly forgot about it. i was over, he found it, and gave it to me.
     
  4. LiekOMG

    LiekOMG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jenna Jameson's School of the "Performing Arts"
    Did you do a complete format and reinstall, or did you simply upgrade 10.2? Upgrading can cause more problems than its worth. Try reinstalling from scratch. Should be called "erase & install" in the installer options.
     
  5. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    ok, i might, but i need to backup my whole hard drive.

    Thanks for that, i honestly didnt know that. I'll prolly be buying Tiger soon, so i'll just reformat it then.
     
  6. Snotfist

    Snotfist I am the Urban Cowboy.

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MinnesOTa
    Tiger FTW. :wiggle:
     

Share This Page