Panther on a Dell?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mcgs999, Nov 24, 2003.

  1. mcgs999

    mcgs999 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    This might be a stupid question but is it possible for me to run OSx on a Dell. Right now I am running XP home edition and would basically like to choose my OS on start up.
    FYI- I have a 1.8 Pentium 4 with 512 of ram and about 35 gigs free... I could free up alot more if necessary as well.

    Thanks Yall
     
  2. Divine Vengeance

    Divine Vengeance New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    20,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uhhh no, mac software requires mac hardware....
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :rofl::rofl:

    No. That OS has to run on a Mac machine. The hardware is completely different.
     
  4. vudoodoodoo

    vudoodoodoo Guest

  5. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  6. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Like everyone said, you can only run Panther on a Mac machine. You could run FreeBSD though, the backend is the same as panther, it's just not as pretty.
     
  7. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish but no
     
  8. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Nykwil

    Nykwil Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    26,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    survey says NO scott
     
  10. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    ROFL.



    Basically the dude built his own G4.. and then put a mini-PC inside it, and claims it's a dual-platform machine. :greddy: Anyone can put two fucking computers in one box and use a KVM. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page