PAL and NTSC

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Axlerod, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. Axlerod

    Axlerod Grammar Police

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canadaustralia
    My question is, does VGA output subscribe to PAL or NTSC or is it different alltogether?

    I've got a laptop which came from Japan, and as I understand it they use NTSC like in North America. However, I'm living in Australia right now where they use PAL.

    I bought a VGA -> Component cable, and it's not working on the TV here (looks all purple and messed up). Could the cable be busted, or is my laptop just not compatible?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    VGA is VGA.

    NTSC / PAL are diff. That's why you need the scan converter.

    what res are you running?
     
  3. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    The incompatibility stems from something other than the PAL vs NTSC issue. VGA is an RGB component signal. The component signal used between DVD players and TVs is YPbPr (color and luminance). You'll need a device called a transcoder to convert one type of signal to another.
     
  4. Axlerod

    Axlerod Grammar Police

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canadaustralia
    Oh ok, thanks guys.

    So the cable I have would work for a projector or something of that sort, but not TVs.

    I have seen a VGA -> S Video cable, would that work? The TV also has an S-Vid input, but the laptop doesn't have an S-Vid out.

    I'm running 1024x768 (it's a Portege 2010).
     
  5. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    The S-vid cable won't work either unless your laptop has the ability to output Chroma/Luma type signals from the VGA port.

    You need a VGA-to-component transcoder like this: http://www.digitalconnection.com/Products/Video/9a60.asp

    But before you try that, you need to make sure you can get your laptop's video card to ouput a frequency/resolution combo that can sync with a TV.

    You might want to look for a port replicator for your laptop that has tv-out.
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Axlerod

    Axlerod Grammar Police

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canadaustralia
    Thanks guys!
     

Share This Page