Painters and Bodymen....check in

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by MandibleTongue, Apr 29, 2005.

1. MandibleTongue

MandibleTongue New Member

Hey everyone, i'm new here was was wondering if there are any painters or bodymen in here. I'm a painter (minor bodywork) and have been doing it for 5 years now. Also what brand of paints are you using/familiar with. I've only used dupont.

2. Scottwax

Scottwax Making detailing great again! Moderator

One of my friends is a paint and body man. Outstanding work too. He used Spies-Hecker paints and has a real nice downdraft paintbooth. What is most impressive are his wetsanding and buffing skills. He does a really good job matching the factory orange peel with minimal sanding on repairs and terrific on complete repaints which are practically orange peel free. www.mistercollision.com

3. MandibleTongue

looks like the quality/clientel that we have at my work. That is a nice break down of the repair process.

4. Ronin

Ronin Guest

not myself but my step is a retired painter who specialized in Glasurit paint, his shop had specialized in restoring old ferarris and he did some other work on mercedes, porsche, pretty much the general euro 15k paint jobs. :)

I think he did that for maybe 10-15 years, i forget, he decided to go do other things.

He helped a friend restore a bronco II about a year ago, nicest paint job ive ever seen on a bronco, he's a perfenctionist and whatever he does he does well.

I have a free paint job coming from him in the future.

5. SSICK WX3

SSICK WX3 New Member

The body shop i work at uses Spies-Hecker.

6. edrox

edrox A good man, and thorough

I don't know if I qualify as a 'paint and body man'

I own this business www.aero-colours.com . We do a lot of touch up, bumper repair, single panel blends, etc. No major stuff or collision repair, just the little base-hits

We use Sherwin Williams/Martin Senour/NAPA paints and some proprietary chemicals and clearcoats.

7. MandibleTongue