P4 vs AMD. Video card advice?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Imp4kT, Jun 4, 2005.

1. Imp4kT

Imp4kT New Member

Ok, once and for all, someone who knows what they are talking about, give me some advice for deciding on a processor, im building my own PC, and it will be for gaming mainly, Steam games mostly, CS and CSS, but I dont want to go for the brand new ones, that are way overpriced, and I dont think I would dare get 2 gfx cards as Im no expert at configuring.

And as I am building my own PC with no experience, has anyone any tips? Is it as easy as moving a bit of plastic to get a HD to work as a slave or a DVD-RW?

Currently I have bought a 480W PSW, I decided for a 200GB HD, and will get another if I need to, but I doubt I will, as its mainly for gaming, and I have a DVD drive left over from another PC, but might buy a new one to go with the colour of my new case.

But the main reason I started this thread was so someone could tell me if AMD or P4 will be the best in say, a few months time, as Im not buying right now, and I was wondering if AGP or PCI would be better to go for in the coming months.

Thanks.

2. Imp4kT

Imp4kT New Member

Oh, and I havent bought a motherboard yet, as the processor, gfx card and mobo should be decided together.

3. diranged

diranged New Member

AMD is going to hold the edge for desktop processors for at least another year or two. Even Intel's new processor designs rely on old technology (FSB, Northbridge, etc).

For gaming, AMD has historically been faster than Intel. As long as your not going to spend most of your time doing media encoding, don't even think about Intel.