GUN P220 Feeding Problem

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Aaron74, Oct 30, 2004.

1. Aaron74

Aaron74 Guest

Since I'm pretty new to this gunning thing, I'm not really sure what could be causing this problem. My SigP220 is brand new. When I first bought it, I oiled it and shot the recomended 200 full-metal jacket breakin' rounds. I don't remember what make they were, but Jim Pruets G/A said that they'd work. And they went as smooth as silk.

Well, I bought a huge box of ammo off line from Cabela's. It was a 1200 count box of 230-Grain FMJ for 280.00$. Well this morning while out at Carters Country I was have a BAD feeding problem. It would fire/eject and then jam up an not chamber the round about every 6-7 rounds it would do so. Yes, the gun is sparkling clean and very oiled. So the only thing I could think of was mabey I had some gritty stuff on the shells. So I started whipping them off before putting them in the clip. That still didn't help.

If I manualy pull the slid back and movie style push it back forward it will run through the clips just fine. But while firing it gums up. I have no ideo what it could be except for maybe a bad recoil spring.

I was reading throught some American Handguners and there was some adds saying there's different recoil spring tensions for different grain ammo's. One article said that a "lighter" spring should be used for small grain practice rounds. And I "heavier" spring should be used for full house factory loads!, Like my 230 grains maybe?? It said also keeping a heavier springs in at all times would help improve feeding and reliablity.

So if anyone has anything to help me out i'd really appriciate it. I'm kinda fucked around here. I don't want to go by a new set of springs and have to keeping changing until something might get better if the spring isn't my problem. So, thanks for taking the time to read and help me out. I'm just kinda upset my baby is having these problems..

Thanks A LOT,
    Aaron Lonergan

2. ryanbum