oy, PC builders (ex crew here)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by PanzerAce, Jun 20, 2007.

  1. PanzerAce

    PanzerAce Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N37°18'37" W120°29'50"
    back about 2 years ago I built myself what was (then) a pretty nice rig for a college student, X1800XT GFx card, AMD 64 4000+ single core, xfire ready mobo, etc. However, it looks like the current crop of games (like DiRT), is WAY beyond the point in terms of hardware that I am at.

    So I need some help. Figure I have about 700-1k dollars to spend, and I need/want to upgrade my MoBo, RAM (DDR2 wasn't for AMDs back then), GFx card, and, maybe, my PSU (Silverstone Zeus 650W)

    thanks :big grin:
     
  2. mrj

    mrj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc tpa sf
    Wait until Jan/Feb.
     
  3. PanzerAce

    PanzerAce Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N37°18'37" W120°29'50"
    why?
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    don't wait till jan/feb unless you're waiting for the latest greatest, in which case, there's never a good time to buy. If you're buying tomorrow, go with a Core 2 Duo E6420, 2GB of some good ram (corsair, crucial or OCZ) and a motherboard with the Intel P35 chipset from Intel if you don't want to overclock or a board from Asus if you do want to overclock.
    Intel has a price drop scheduled for mid July, so if you can wait it out, their base model quad core cpu is dropping to $266, which is a screaming deal.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm planning on getting one, even though I don't even come close to pushing my E6600 right now.
     
  6. PanzerAce

    PanzerAce Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N37°18'37" W120°29'50"
    honestly, I don't get why people always say more cores are better, what I heard is that they are great if you are actually going to be running multiple programs at once, but for my purposes (game + some AIM prog), it really just doesn't seem needed :dunno:
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    (sigh)

    Open "taskmgr.exe", switch to the "Processes" tab, and look at the number of processes running on your computer. YOU ARE ALWAYS RUNNING MORE THAN ONE PROGRAM. You're right that most programs can't use more than one core, but since you're running an OS that CAN use more than one core, the system as a whole will still benefit.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, beyond two cores it is overkill. There's only a handful of mainstream programs that can make use of four cores.
    I'm probably going to get the Q6600 anyway though. For$266, it's going to be a steal.

    And I never can tell when I'll reinstall some video and audio programs I have sitting around.
     
  9. PanzerAce

    PanzerAce Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N37°18'37" W120°29'50"
    :o

    Point taken.

    So.....other than a quad core chip, what specific CPU's do you guys recomend? also, what about the rest of the hardware that I posted? And specifically, is this stuff: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?ATT=20146565&CMP=AFC-SlickDeals&Item=N82E16820146565 any good? I figure 140 + shipping for 4 gigs after rebate is a steal if the ram is any good :dunno:

    As I told a friend, I fell off the hardware wagon and into quicksand :hsd:
     
  10. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    it's an awesome deal on the ram, but xp and vista 32bit will only see around 3.3gb of it, so you'd need to run a 64bit OS to take full advantage of it.

    For CPU, if you're buying today, get the E6420, it's the best mix of performance and price, if you are going to wait, the Core 2 Quad Q6600 will be the way to go at the end of july.
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can always buy a Mac...:mamoru:
     
  12. PanzerAce

    PanzerAce Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N37°18'37" W120°29'50"
    not going to happen, EVER.
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    OS-X is basically Linux, right? So it can address a wad of memory.
     
  14. mrj

    mrj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc tpa sf
    OSX has nothing to do with Linux, it was built from BSD
     

Share This Page