Overclock, core duo, or 8800GTS?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SHIFT_blue, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. SHIFT_blue

    SHIFT_blue OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Sup guys. First let me start with my sys specs.

    Pentium D 915 @ 2.8ghz
    1gb DDR2-667 ram (have no idea on the brand, bought in japan)
    7600GS 256mb
    SB Audigy 2
    430watt PS (also japanese)
    SATA 160gb hitachi
    IDE WD 200gb
    IDE Maxtor 80gb
    LG dvd/cd burner
    Pioneer dvd/cd burner

    Im wanting more performance out of my rig for gaming. Im wondering what out of these three things will get me the biggest performance increase. Overclocking (would require new mobo since I have a low end gigabyte), an 8800 GTS 640mb (I can get one for $300 from a friend), or an upgrade to a core duo processor?

    I keep hearing about how the core duo's annihilate all and Im leaning that way. If I do get one, can I just plug it in and be good to go? Or do I need to fresh install windows again?

    Thanks for any info.
     
  2. grocerylist

    grocerylist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    How about Core2Duo & Overclock. I was able to overclock my e4300 from 1.8ghz to 3.6ghz with nothing extraordinary.
     
  3. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    The biggest boost will come from that video card. Another gig of ram would help too.
     
  4. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    then you got lucky. Getting 3.6GHz from a E4300 is asking a lot.


    My vote goes to an 8800GTS....
     
  5. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    not all 775 motherboards support core 2 duo, so make sure yours does if you choose to upgrade proc.

    if i was you and i couldn't upgrade both proc and video card, i would go with video card. i'd also get more ram since 1gb is cheap as fuck right now. but then again you could also get a e4300 for cheap. :noes:
     
  6. SHIFT_blue

    SHIFT_blue OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Yeah it supports it. Eventually Im going to get all three. Right now Im going to get the video card and another 1gb of ram. Then the person Im getting the vid card off of is going to sell me his E6600 for cheap when he upgrades here in a month or so. So Im gonna get em all!
     
  7. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    dont OC a laptop.
     
  8. dtfromep

    dtfromep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    As far as the chip upgrade, it *should* just work, but it's always a good idea to run sysprep before the upgrade (assuming you have XP, can't speak for vista).....
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    .
     
  10. SHIFT_blue

    SHIFT_blue OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    So I got the vid card today. Havent had much time to test it out though. I only installed the drivers it came with since my internet is going extremely slow and Im going to fall asleep before the drivers finish.

    Anyways I went into Battlefield 2142 and I was pretty dissapointed. With the 7600GS I had in before it seems like the framerate is pretty much the same. Only difference is now all the graphics are turned on compared to all medium. I also couldnt really play the game at all. Because of a combination of two things. Everything started turning yellow. I read up on this and it was a common occurance. Im hoping new drivers will fix it.

    The other thing making it unplayable was excessive page file usage. At least thats what I think it was. My HD light went SOLID and the framerate would be skipping around like crazy. Couldve also been my shitty connection, but I know my hard drive was going crazy. Oh and this was all at only 1024x768. I had no other programs running other then Norton which is always on.

    Is 1gb of ram really that crippling nowadays? Im pretty dissapointed.
     
  11. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Norton is crippling even with 3GB.
     
  13. Moistfly

    Moistfly Anal Bum Cover

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    12,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't know why you'd go with an 8800gts 640 since even the 320 will be CPU limited where you're at now. I'd upgrade the CPU/MB first, with the understanding that you'll probably want to upgrade the video card soon as well.
     

Share This Page