Outlook on two computers

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nucklearknight, Oct 9, 2008.

  1. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    I have Microsoft Outlook setup on one computer with my Gmail account. If I set it up on my second will they both be identical? For example if I send a message from one computer can I see that I sent it from the other via Outlook? And will they have identical inbox's?
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    if it is setup to POP3, no.
    if it is setup to IMAP, yes.

    note that even with IMAP,... anything local to each computer/client will still be different.
     
  3. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    OK thanks... I'll look into IMAP
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    nuke, you don't have a choice about whether your mail provider uses POP or IMAP; all you can do is look for one that offers IMAP, and (probably) pay them for an account.
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    IMAP for Gmail is free
    all you have to do is enable it and use it instead of pop

    http://mail.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=75725
     
  6. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    he already said he's using gmail, and they offer imap :hsugh:
     
  7. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    almost everyone DOES give you a choice by either allowing you to connect as an IMAP or POP3

    I have only ran into a couple that didn't allow for IMAP and only POP3... never ran into anyone who was IMAP only, unless it is a specific IMAP specialized service
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay. I'm just saying he doesn't have control over which one(s) each company offers. It's nice that Google gives him that choice; some don't.
     
  9. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    you're weird.
     
  10. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Haha well I decided that I'm just going to use the web version of outlook when I'm on my Eee Pc and outlook when I'm on my Thinkpad which is going to stay put for the most part. Seems easiest that way.
     

Share This Page