Outlook express opens by itself??

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TheMetNut, Mar 25, 2005.

  1. TheMetNut

    TheMetNut OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    All I have to do is slightly bump my computer cabinet, drop the mouse or just bump the computer itself and Outlook Express opens up. This is VERY irritating, as I'm trying to play WoW and all of a sudden the program opens up for no reason, can anyone help? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    wow, that's pretty odd. Do you have one of those keyboards that have extra buttons to startup applications like email and web browsers? Perhaps the keyboard connector is faulty and causing spurious button presses to register. Try a different keyboard. At worst, you may have to replace the motherboard if the keyboard connector is faulty.
     
  3. TheMetNut

    TheMetNut OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I thought that it could be the problem since I spilt pop on it :) BUt then I went to the store and bought another keyboard, and the problem still exists. Could viruses/spyware be the cause of this? I mean if I don't physically bump into the computer or anything nothing happens, but as soon as the cabinet/desk, or if I even turn on the lamp on my desk, the program opens up. How aggrivating :(
     
  4. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    It has to be a hardware problem due to the "user input" that's required for the problem to show itself. I still think it's related to the keyboard. Have you tried unplugging the keyboard and bumping the computer? Also, open up the machine and make sure nothing is loose.
     
  5. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Run a virus and spyware scan just to be on the safe side. You never know what could case it. Plus the scans can't hurt anything but your time waiting for them to finish scanning and cleaning.
     
  6. TheMetNut

    TheMetNut OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I've unplugged the keyboard and bumped it and it still opens up, I've scanned for spyware with Adaware, Spybot and Spyware doctor, and used Trend Micro to scan for viruses. I had a couple viruses, and a bunch of spyware, removed it and the problem still exists.
     

Share This Page