Outlook command line switches

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by sandor3kgt, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. sandor3kgt

    sandor3kgt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having trouble getting the /autorun switch to work with outlook 2003. All other switches seem to be functioning properly.
    My command looks something like "outlook.exe /recycle /autorun mailmacro"
    It opens up outlook but it does nothing after startup.

    Anyone have any suggestions or know what might cause this problem?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Did you check macro security? Does it need to be in double quotes?
     
  3. sandor3kgt

    sandor3kgt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Macro security is on low, and I swear I've tried just about every combination of quotes and no quotes there is.
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Does the macro work? Can you perhaps do something more simplistic to see if it fires?
     
  5. sandor3kgt

    sandor3kgt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    The macro is very simple, close to 10 lines, and I've tested it numerous times. It works when running from the tools->macros menu, just not when I try to use /autorun :squint:
     
  6. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    This works for me with macro security lowered.

    Code:
    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\OUTLOOK.EXE" /recycle /autorun mailmacro
    
    Make sure the macro name is right. It won't give an error if the name is wrong.
     
  7. sandor3kgt

    sandor3kgt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I got it working, but it only runs on the initial startup. Is there some way of making it run once there's already an outlook instance going?
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Would changing it to a rule work? What does the macro do?
     

Share This Page