OT9 RSS Feed

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Create, May 12, 2007.

  1. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does it exist? If so, hook me up with the pointers.

    edit: 5k post. If a few regulars drop in a post I'll drop some pics of the poster's choice.
     
  2. jmechy

    jmechy Calmer then you are.

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    bottom of the page:
    http://forums.offtopic.com/rss.html

    I'll warn you, RSS on a place like OT might be a bad idea. If you subscribed to an RSS feed for the main forum you would be totally spammed with messages.
     
  3. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why would you want RSS for OT?
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I tried it. It is HORRIBLE.
     
  5. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm trying to modify a konfab widget to include a filter. I need a feed that spams :)

    Thanks. I'm just starting to play with RSS. Any neato stuff you want to point me at, like piping an email box to RSS?
     
  6. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    :eek3:
     
  7. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok, so here's the idea, mostly a 'because It shoudl be possible' excercise.

    Currently, collegues send an email to a dedicated IT support box should a need arise. The title is sent via SMS to my cell.

    What I'd like to do is have my other, regular email box pipe to RSS so that I can push it through the konfab widget to a scrolling bar across the screen.

    Here's a pic. I want to use the scrolling "LED Banner" widget located along the taskbar.[​IMG]

    I guess you can't see it that well in the resize. It's the dark orange text. That banner scrolls. Stock tickers aren't setup to the HUD yet. Banner runs always, not just in the HUD.

    PS: Show me a better way to get all the headlines, 5-10 stock tickers, and monitor several email boxes on a single screen. It'd be tough to give up the HUD.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2007
  8. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dual, even triple monitors in your future.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Why hack something to work with single screens? Just get two monitors and be done with it.
     
  10. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    1. I'm not hacking shit. The owner sent me the code, just like any other konfab author.

    2. Adding a screen doesn't solve the issue at hand. I'd still have to manually check boxes rather than occassionally glance at the banner.

    3. It doesn't matter what I write here because by your own admission you don't read before you respond anyhow.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2007
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    because it's PR propoganda that only stupid people fall for... and this country is filled with stupid people. Unfortunatly, they all feel compelled to vote.
     
  12. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh fuck, and I thought you were just a dick since you actually knew something about the topic at hand.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    go on, edit some more posts AFTER I respond.
     
  14. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Will do!

    POP3 --> RSS into the widget is working. Now for the filters...
     

Share This Page