Ot Seti

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CompiledMonkey, Aug 10, 2003.

  1. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    What ever happened to our team? I searched for it yesterday but didn't find anything. If I start a new one, is there any interest from you guys?
     
  2. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
  3. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Rock on, I'm in. :cool:
     
  4. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Do they still have a linux client? I could run this on my firewall.
     
  5. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Yup. I'm actually running it on a dual processor (200mhz) RedHat 9 server I manage. Not to mention about 4 other desktops/servers. :big grin:
     
  6. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    The 51st member is in.
     
  7. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    The machine that I am running it on will have dual pentium II 450's in about 1 week. :cool:
     
  8. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Running the client (read: keeping it running) is a little different on a Linux system. I personally wrote a shell script which starts the client. Then I have a cron job which runs every two hours to start the script. You probably don't need a script if it's only 1 CPU. I do because I must have two "installs" of SETI, 1 per CPU. :big grin:
     
  9. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    :cool:

    I need to see if I can run it on some of our more powerful servers. I know I can run it on anything I monitor directly (partly because I'm the only one which monitors the machine), but I need to check on some of our 4 and 8 processor Sun servers. :cool:
     
  10. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    :cool: :drool:
     
  11. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    So I am guessing that the client is not threaded, so it needs to be run 2 times on a dual machine? What if the two processes end up on the same CPU?

    I just ran it like this:

    [email protected]:~$ screen ./setiathome
     
  12. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I think there are command line perams that allow you to specify which CPU it runs on. I just ran them like normal and they each picked different CPUs. I've started/stopped them numerous time and it's been the same results each time.

    Make sure you have two instances though. For example, I did this:

    /opt/seti1/
    /opt/seti2/

    I also renamed the executables as seti1 and seti2. This way I know which is which under top. So far I've had great results.
     
  13. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    These are the systems I'm currently running SETI on:

    1. Windows XP Pro, 700mhz Duron, 256MB RAM.
    2. Windows XP Pro, 1.5ghz P4, 1GB RAM.
    3. RedHat 9, (2) 200mhz P1, 128MB RAM.
    4. Windows 2003 Server, 1ghz P3, 384MB RAM.

    I run it on these machines during the winter (heat issues):

    5. Windows 2003 Server/RH9 (whatever I'm feeling like), 1ghz T-Bird, 512MB RAM.
    6. RH7.1, 180mhz P1, 64MB RAM.

    I'm sure there are a few more machines I can rig up with SETI, but I need to look around. I'd love to get it on the lab machines. :drool: We have around 40 Dells with 1.5ghz, 512MB RAM for our students. We plan on upgrading them over this winter break.
     
  14. SycoPhant

    SycoPhant Get out my way

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    17,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    This is kaldurak posting under Sycophants account. I'll be joining tonight methinks
     
  15. kaldurak

    kaldurak Gimme some sugar baby.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    36,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
  16. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  17. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    BTW, anyone know who choler is?
     
  18. kaldurak

    kaldurak Gimme some sugar baby.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    36,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    oh sweet. My average CPU time per unit is only 4 hours :bowdown:
     
  19. kaldurak

    kaldurak Gimme some sugar baby.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    36,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    We need more people in on this :hs:
     
  20. JW2

    JW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    32,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    I'll do it
     
  21. JW2

    JW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    32,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Ok, tell me what to do.
     
  22. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
  23. JW2

    JW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    32,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
  24. darthmushu

    darthmushu Guest

    Number 53 right here :bigthumb:
     
  25. kaldurak

    kaldurak Gimme some sugar baby.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    36,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    running it on 2 computers now!! :o
     

Share This Page