OT Please help!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MSPOWNZU, Feb 16, 2007.

  1. MSPOWNZU

    MSPOWNZU New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    I have a 1.5 GH Intel Celeron, 512 Ram laptop, Win XP Pro, and it SUXS, I play 10 mins of video and the video starts chopping. What do I need? A new laptop? I know the celeron SUXS, it's a terrible processor, but what if I upgraded to 2 gig of RAM would that make a BIG difference? Please help I hate my laptop right now. Thanks!!!!
     
  2. MSPOWNZU

    MSPOWNZU New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    ok any other soultion besides Linux?
     
  3. whup

    whup I wish you had children and.. so that I could step

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    So it takes a while before it starts getting choppy?

    Are you all patched up? You should check to see if something's eating up your cpu or ram. There used to be a bug with the avi handling in XP which would cause explorer.exe to eat memory over time.

    Restart your PC

    Open up Task Manager by right clicking on the task bar and choosing Task Manager from the pop-up

    Go to the Processes tab

    Click the Mem Usage column twice so that it is sorted ascending

    Now watch your the Mem Usage and watch if anything's eating memory
    If it's not that, do a descending sort on the cpu column to see what's owning your cpu
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Do what whup said, and while you're at it you should definitely buy some more ram.
    Another 512mb stick will do wonders.
     
  5. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Your laptop can play videos, even though MS and the lot would prefer you to beleive it can't.

    Seriously. Ubuntu. Worth a shot, no?

    Buying more ram I wouldn't think would help much. 512Mb is plenty.

    And you'd wanna be all patched up...............
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try using SpeedFan or Motherboard Monitor to track your CPU temperature and make sure it's not getting really really hot.
     
  7. hayWIR3D

    hayWIR3D ** 40 days, 40 nights cumming to an OT near you **

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BEXAR COUNTY
    It might even be your codecs. Have you tried any other codecs? Do you have the latest version of WMP?

    Does it happen on any video or certain vids?
     
  8. Supergeek

    Supergeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    If you're just playing video files (avi) try using Media Player Classic or VLC to play your videos instead of Windows Media Player.

    If you're playing DVD's, it would depend what software you're using. You may be using crappy software.

    Check the codecs too. You can use AVI Codec to see what codecs your videos are using (not DVDs) and if you need a new DivX or XviD codec, go and download the latest.
     
  9. MSPOWNZU

    MSPOWNZU New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    k I did this and when I restart I have 47 processes? How do I get this # down? System Idle Process is the highest under the CPU tab hovering around 98, and svchost.exe is highest mem usage at 21,000?
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    System idle, is just the amount of cpu cycles not being used. It's good when that's a high number.
    That means your cpu is not the bottleneck.

    To get your processes down, go to this site and follow the "safe" settings all the way down the list.

    http://majorgeeks.com/page.php?id=12

    To get to your services, go to Start > Run > type services.msc >
    On the bottom, click the standard tab > then simply double click each item
    one at a time and change the setting in "Startup type" to either manual, automatic, or disabled
    as called for in the Black Viper list.
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the CPU ever runs out of stuff to do, it instantly reboots. The System Idle Process is there to keep the CPU occupied when it has nothing else to do.

    I'm gonna guess that you have RealPlayer and QuickTime and Java Automatic Update and god knows what else running. The first thing you should do is open "msconfig.exe", go to the "Startup" tab, and disable all the crap you find in there -- but not everything, because you may have something like specialized mouse/kb software that needs to run on startup.
     

Share This Page