OT is there any reason not to order this RAM v. MBP

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by manchild, Apr 24, 2007.

  1. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Its for my 2.16 GHz CD MBP. I have a single 1 GB stick, and need one more. Crucial RAM has a stick for about 70 shipped 2 day Air, any reason not to get this?
    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=6DA0A421A5CA7304

    Who has the best warrantees (sp)? Looking at Crucial, it says call them if anything happens after 30 days, but it doesn't say they're fix it for free :ugh: . Anyone with a better recommendation?
     
  2. Bona Fide

    Bona Fide Guest

  3. about:blank

    about:blank Whether you think that you can or that you can't,

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,234
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Portland/Charlotte
  4. nashstradamus

    nashstradamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    ditto about the macbook
     
  5. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    core duos only take 2 GB max, its the C2D that take 3 GB.


    Think I'm going to order the G-skill tomorrow, thanks for the tip.
     
  6. Bona Fide

    Bona Fide Guest

    Yep. It'll work in any Intel Mac.
     
  7. Bona Fide

    Bona Fide Guest

    Mwuahaha.

    3 more converts to G.Skill. You will not be disappointed. :coold:
     
  8. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    .

    If you have stock 1 Gig of memory, it is 2 512mb sticks and there are no spaces available...

    You would have to get 2 1 gb sticks if that is the case...
     
  9. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Not true, Macbook Pros come with a single 1 GB stick, and one open slot.
     
  10. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    YARLY
     
  11. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    :rant2: :wtf: :mad: my mbp icd came with 2 512 sticks :mad: :wtf: :rant2:
     
  12. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  13. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    :Owned:

    I've got a refurb 2.16 GHz Core Duo and mine came with a single 1 GB stick.
     
  14. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    well my macbook (non pro), is 2 512 mb sticks


    Whats the best option for upgrading the macbook to 2gb??

    Buy 2, 1gb sticks, and sell my 512 sticks?? Who do you guys recommend to buy from?
     
  15. Bona Fide

    Bona Fide Guest

  16. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    fyi, the MBP is very touchy about the RAM you use in it -- apple's BSing about that. WinXP in boot camp has been known to BSOD when running unmatched RAM pairs (google it, there are some threads that talk about this). The memory that ships with the MBP is the crucial stick, so buying a second one is the only way to be reasonably sure that they are compatible with each other.
     
  17. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    also I remember when I paid $130 for the same crucial memory stick 2.5 months ago :hs:
     
  18. Chadder007

    Chadder007 OG Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    15,326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    No...its Dell and HP that pull that shit.
     
  19. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Good luck selling sticks of 512 :hsugh:

    You're better off keeping the stock RAM in a drawer in case you need to send the mb in for repair....
     
  20. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    That's what i did. Sold my 2 512s in the yardsale, and bought 2 1gb Kingston Value Ram modules....it was about half the price of the stuff they 'recommend' and since kingston has a lifetime warranty, there's nothing to worry about :bigthumb:
     
  21. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ya I think I'm just gonna give it to my gf. She only has 256 mb in her dell, lol.
     
  22. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    fuck, i want out of my CD now :wtc:

    i wonder how much i could get for it?
     
  23. about:blank

    about:blank Whether you think that you can or that you can't,

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,234
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Portland/Charlotte
  24. Bona Fide

    Bona Fide Guest

  25. about:blank

    about:blank Whether you think that you can or that you can't,

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,234
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Portland/Charlotte
    My RAM is supposed to come today and the fucking UPS dude has been by already but the fucker pulled in and then just left :wtc:
     

Share This Page