OT, educate me on RAID

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Dr. Smooth, Nov 14, 2007.

  1. Dr. Smooth

    Dr. Smooth dazed and confused

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    miami
    basically, what i want to know is if there are any speed advantages to raid as opposed to a single SATA drive. i have a seagate SATA 320mb 7200rpm right now, which is more than enough storage but since black friday's supposed to have some killer deals coming i'm thinking about picking up another one. data loss/recovery isn't a huge priority for me, i really don't have shit on my computer besides games, music movies etc. buuut if data moves faster in a RAID array, i would spring for another one if it's cheap. does it?
     
  2. HardTech

    HardTech hungry

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    28,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NorCal
    there are different kinds of RAID.

    RAID 0 would theoretically be twice as fast, but real-world you'll probably see a 70% increase in performance. It would also be twice as likely to lose all your data.
     
  3. HardTech

    HardTech hungry

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    28,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NorCal
    btw, to install RAID, you have to have a RAID card. If your motherboard is a few years old or pretty cheap, chances are you'll have to buy a RAID card separately. Good news is you can get a cheap RAID card that'll support 2 drives for RAID 0 for like $30
     
  4. Dr. Smooth

    Dr. Smooth dazed and confused

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    miami
    :eek3: 70% faster eh? do i need to matching drives for this?

    i don't really care about data loss, but on the other hand...how does it work? if one drive crashes they both fail? if one fails, you lose data on the other one? would i have to replace both if i had a problem with one?
     
  5. Dr. Smooth

    Dr. Smooth dazed and confused

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    miami
    i have a 2 month old gigabyte p35, i'm 99% sure it has onboard RAID control
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Well, this 100% PROVES you are an idiot.
     
  7. EvanD

    EvanD Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,727
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    RAID 0 will have a negligible increase in performance. Seek times yes, but overall, no.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :werd:

    In the REAL world, FAID0 will not help performance. And it comes with a VERY high cost of failure. I do not recommend FAID0 for the average consumer. And NEVER for storage solutions.
     
  9. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    whoa......the details in this post blew me away
     
  10. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    oh? :hsugh:
     
  11. Dr. Smooth

    Dr. Smooth dazed and confused

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    miami
    ok, didn't mean to start a flame war.

    i'm almost entirely interested in playing games on this box. i've noticed that quite often, my lag/framerate drops while playing occur simultaneously with hard drive noises. would a RAID configuration help me?
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    RAID 1, yes. RAID0, no.

    In RAID1, you can READ two things at once, because 2 copies exist. In basically any other config, no.

    However, RAID3/5 can have higher throughput so they can also provide additional performance gains.

    FAID0 would actually have REDUCED read performance.
     
  13. Dr. Smooth

    Dr. Smooth dazed and confused

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    miami
    ok, so what is required for RAID1? 2 of the same HD's?
     
  14. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    you don't have to... there are couple of keywords that catalyze some schmucks to pointlessly start flaming.

    just post dell, gigabyte, amd, raid0, etc. in other threads and it will come. it's like the fuggin' energizer bunny. spewing crap. don't listen to it.

    in your situation, if your not going to buy a good raid controller and don't care about data integrity. don't bother with raid.
     
  15. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    get a pci-e card that supports scsi-320 and get a 15k scsi drive, call it a day
    it should be faster than a raid 1 sata II config

    you could raid scsi drives if you really wanted to
     
  16. Dr. Smooth

    Dr. Smooth dazed and confused

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    miami
    fair enough. if i won't see much realistic speed improvement, i won't bother
     
  17. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    um, that person wanted to take advantage of some BF deals and wanted to configure his drives optimally.

    recommending a loud ass hot ass expensive ass 15k U320 drive(s) and HBA is worse advice than what jolly gives.
     
  18. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    for home use with windows software raid or shit software raid hardware controllers, there's not much point. good to play with. that's about it.

    better to segregate I/O amongst the drives. OS on one, swap on the other. games, vids, mp3s, porn... whatever you think you'll read/write at the same time, keep them on separate drives if ya got that many.
     
  19. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
    Using Raid0 for non-critical data, as a scratch disk, or in a workstation for video editing would be ok. Otherwise agree 100%. It's pointless to use for home when weighed against the cost of data recovery under catastrophic failure. It should be a given that home users will not back up their data frequently enough. If you want lower access times for an OS drive shell out money for a 10k raptor, SCSI, or a SSD.

    The only practical application for home raid would be raid5, raid6 for large arrays where redundancy is needed. raid6 would be the better choice with storage arrays over 2TB, or when you don't want to take a chance of losing any data from a 2nd drive failing, which could occur during a raid5 rebuild. Of course, in order to get raid6 you're going to need to shell out cash to buy a controller card from Areca or 3ware
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2007
  20. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
  21. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
    I see your charm and wit have not escaped you.. :hsugh:
     
  22. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    no point in egging it. you should've realized it posts on the internet like this all the time... only time will get it banned again.
     
  23. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    :rofl: you never know, they might have scsi drives as staples door busters
    (in my dreams)

    there is always a chance that you might be able to find a decent black friday/cyber monday deal on a raptor drive...
     
  24. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    can one even buy a u320 drive in a store? i have about a dozen 36GB and 72 GB 15k drives at home. My work was throwing away an old SAN and I took a few. Got two HBA's, set up two machines. I was like this is going to be awesome. Turned them on. Set things up. Used for about a week. Realized that these fuckers high pitch are driving me crazy. Haven't booted them up in 2 years. I just gave a box away to someone on craigs. Waiting to meet another guy this week the other.
     
  25. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
    The last good deal on expensive drives happened during BF '05 and it was only on large storage at the time. I don't believe I've ever seen a deal on SCSI in an online or retail outlet for BF.

    The only time I've seen a deal was a pricing mistake by Dell for a period of three days this past summer where it was possible to buy a 15k 150gb SAS drive for $80
     

Share This Page