OT Database people, Nuke + phpbb question(s)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MP, May 27, 2006.

  1. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    okay so I installed phpnuke (latest version) and it came w/ phpbb 2.xxx.

    My question is I want to have the forums on another domain but keep the same database. For example if a user signs up on the phpnuke page they will be able to post / read the forums on another domain name without having to register twice and vise versus. The sites are all on the same server w/ the same ip (not sure if that would matter).

    I haven't looked into how to do this or what will be involved so I figured I would ask here to see if anybody has any suggestions on where to look, if it's even possible, or any help ya'll could offer.

    thanks
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2006
  2. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using phpNuke is like pleading for your site to get hacked.

    But if you're insistent on using phpNuke... it's really a matter of your bridge between phpBB and your Nuke user accounts. As long as your bridge is set up to not be site specific it should work just fine as long as you point to the correct database. I haven't used phpNuke and phpBB together so I'm not sure how it's set up. I'm pretty sure they have bridges to allow you to link two phpNuke sites together as far as users are concerned. An easy fix would probably be installing Nuke on both and linking the databases. Just have your domain point to your forum and bypass the nuke homepage. For example... www.yoursite.com/forum Have that be your default folder when people are at yoursite.com. If you're looking to get this done pro (Which I doubt because most phpNuke sites look anything but Pro), you might have to find yourself a patch, hack, mod, add-on, whatever the fuck they call it. If that don't work you may have to edit some core files of the phpNuke & phpBB and/or the bridge.

    Again, I haven't used this software in god knows how long and never together so I really don't know how it's set-up. I just felt bad that no one has responded yet.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    *VERY* easy. you can symlink the wwwroot directory to the second domain if you want the forums to be a carbon-copy. Otherwise, install a seperate copy of phpBB, but during it's configuration, set it to use the same database settings as the other copy.
     
  4. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will the bridge allow the users of the second site to access the Nuke features of the first site? A lot of these bridges are pretty half assed. And if you share the database settings you're sharing the posts/forum settings as well.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    symlink would. Otherwise, no.
     
  6. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Genius, pure genius.
     
  7. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    thanks :)
     

Share This Page