OT computer people. I beg of you for your help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by WickedLou9, Nov 12, 2003.

  1. WickedLou9

    WickedLou9 Deep cover terrorist gerbil

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    44,866
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I am at the end of my rope with my computer.
    Between work, buying a new place, trying to get a mortgage, and this.. I think I am going to have a heart attack. ( and I am turning 26 today :( )

    I'll try to keep this brief and to the point.

    Configuration:
    Asus A7V-266E most recent bios revision (1011 I believe)
    512 megs PC2700 DDR 333mhz
    AMD XP1900+
    ATI Radeon 8500 64MB
    80 GIG WD 7200rpm IDE hard disk ( Storage drive )
    Adaptec stand alone RAID controller card
    - Two WD 40gig 7200 RPM IDE hard drives in a RAID 0 configuration
    CDRW drive
    Windows XP professional

    Ok. So I had installed windows ontop of windows 2 or 3 times.
    Windows started becoming fruity on me. Freezing ALL the time.
    I bought a new HD so that I wouldnt loose all the files I wanted to keep.
    Installed that. No problem.
    Began copying files over. Windows freezes. and dies. kaput. no booting.

    Re-installed windows on top of windows again. Didnt want to loose my data.
    worked fine.
    Copied all files over to new storage drive without issue.

    With that done I wanted to re-format the RAID array and install windows on a clean slate.

    went through my 6 setup disks. formatted the raid Array. completed initial setup and copying of files from CD.

    Computer reboots

    Upon completeion of BIOS load...

    "Missing file NTLDR" press any key to reboot.

    great. Boot sector is fux0r3d.

    Go into Raid array config. delete array. re-create array, select boot drive, blah blah.. done.

    try again.

    this time after intial setup and reboot, BIOS finishes. Screen goes blank with the exception of one line. " Press any key to reboot"
    press a key, it reboots, and repeats the cycle.

    I went into the setup again, and chose repair instead of install. I tried fixing the MBR. ( command FIXMBR ) Same results. The only thing I have not tried yet was another command FIXBOOT. which I guess is my last resort.

    After that I will have to install windows onto my storage drive. which I really don't want to do.



    I'm at work now, so I can't try anything yet. But seriously. If someone can tell me what to do here I will pay them. whatever is fair. 20 bucks? make me an offer. I am just at the end of my rope here and I can't deal with another problem.
     
  2. brainndropp

    brainndropp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Send me your computer I will fix it and send it back to you :x:
     
  3. WickedLou9

    WickedLou9 Deep cover terrorist gerbil

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    44,866
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey
    LOL. it's in pieces on my floor. the cover is off, drives are out. cables are everywhere. :o

    it would probably cost 50 bucks just for shipping. :sad2:
     
  4. brainndropp

    brainndropp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    More like 20 bux as long as you package it :o
     
  5. Eulogy

    Eulogy The Great Below

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Help Me I am in Hell
    Asus A7V-266E = crap . you probably fucked up windows beyond belief, you should never reinstall on a current install.
     
  6. WickedLou9

    WickedLou9 Deep cover terrorist gerbil

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    44,866
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey
    i know I shouldnt but I didnt have a choice. and I was tired of loosing all my data.
    But now I am left with a clean drive with nothing on it and I still can't get it to work.
    Oh, and Asus anything != crap
     
  7. Eulogy

    Eulogy The Great Below

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Help Me I am in Hell
    format the drive and perform a clean install of windows.
     
  8. brainndropp

    brainndropp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use xp pro and boot from the cd :o
     
  9. WickedLou9

    WickedLou9 Deep cover terrorist gerbil

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    44,866
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Hey. read the post. I did that. the Array is as empty as your head.
     
  10. brainndropp

    brainndropp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl:
     
  11. WickedLou9

    WickedLou9 Deep cover terrorist gerbil

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    44,866
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I do have a copy of XP professional. but it's not a bootable CD. :sad2:

    and it wont matter, because the machine will not boot from the array in it's current state. there is a problem with the boot sector that I do not know how to repair.
     
  12. CrosseyeLion

    CrosseyeLion delight in our youth...

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    36,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Happy Birthday :wavey:
     
  13. Stylerod

    Stylerod 150mph in a swimsuit :eek3:

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    30,130
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    150MPH in a Swimsuit :eek3:!
    Try not using your array. Put the OS on one disk, use the array for storage.
     
  14. WickedLou9

    WickedLou9 Deep cover terrorist gerbil

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    44,866
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey
    thanks :hs:
     
  15. WickedLou9

    WickedLou9 Deep cover terrorist gerbil

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    44,866
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I am pretty certain that I can do that. The drive is like 3 days old, so it shouldn't have any issues. but I really don't want to do that, becuase I spent the money setting up a raid 0 array for speed. If I just use it for storage, it's really a waste. :sad2: if It comes down to it, I can do that.
     
  16. Stylerod

    Stylerod 150mph in a swimsuit :eek3:

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    30,130
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    150MPH in a Swimsuit :eek3:!

    Just give it a try and see what happens. If it works, you know your card might be bad. If it doesn't then maybe your RAM is bad or the BIOS is screwed somehow. It may also be one bad drive in your array. That is the hard part about using an RAID 0. One drive goes bad and you are screwed.
     
  17. shaunone

    shaunone Guest

    ntlr loader thingy, i had that it was one of 2 problems there was a floppy in the damn floppy drive win 98 boot disc-dumbass me.....then i just formatted and win xp pro clean install
     
  18. upparoom

    upparoom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    94,030
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Houston
    I'm suspecting the RAM here. Looks like something is getting corrupted during the install process.
     
  19. Aslan

    Aslan My avatar is the new hotness... yours... Old and b

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2001
    Messages:
    4,823
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NW burbs o' Chicago
    balh balh happy birthday :wiggle:
     
  20. WickedLou9

    WickedLou9 Deep cover terrorist gerbil

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    44,866
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey
    You know.. I have been suspecting bad ram in this PC for a long time now. Hmm....
     
  21. Firewall97

    Firewall97 Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    167,901
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Iowa
    I would forget about using XP after u format (if you want partition the drive for 2k and XP as separate OSs..)

    if after you perform a clean install after a format of your OS drive you have problems the problem lies maybe with your RAM or your mobo.
    my sister had a similiar problem and I found out the RAM was defective...i replaced it of course and now everything is ok :)
     
  22. Firewall97

    Firewall97 Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    167,901
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Iowa
    sorry for the late reply but I am pretty sure it IS the RAM that has gone bad
     
  23. MattIROC

    MattIROC has a semi nice av. changed due to rules :(

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Tx
    Ditto, sounds like the memory is fux0red. Try another stick of memory and see how it goes.

    Happy Birthday btw. :big grin:
     
  24. Firewall97

    Firewall97 Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    167,901
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Iowa
    btw happy b day :)
     
  25. WickedLou9

    WickedLou9 Deep cover terrorist gerbil

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    44,866
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey
    thanks guys.

    Sigh. I have replaced so many things in this PC. power supply, raid contrller card, sound card, heat sink. hard drives. now memory....


    I am never building my OWN PC again.
     

Share This Page