OT computer guru's, got a problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AzGuy79, Dec 22, 2006.

  1. AzGuy79

    AzGuy79 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Arizona
    my laptop is running like shit. i cant play movies in my media players because the lag is so extreme. my internet is running about the same. i have ran 3 spyware scans and a norton virus scan, they all came up with nothing. im currently at 52 running processes and my cpu usage is always around 90-95%, even after a reboot. i try deleting stuff, nothing changes. i moved all my media to an external hd, still no results. ive got a gig of ram installed, and about 21 gigs of space left on a 40 gig hd. im running xp with sp2. any suggestions?
     
  2. RubiconSahara

    RubiconSahara OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2000
    Messages:
    7,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    The easy answer - since you've already got your stuff backed up, format and start fresh with a new install.

    If you want to start troubleshooting, clear out all your cache's, temp folders, and windows/prefetch folder. Reboot and defrag the system and then see where you stand. Also see what you have in your startup folder and remove it.
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Start > type cmd, press ok >

    Copy and paste this into a cmd line prompt:

    WMIC /OUTPUT:C:\ProcessList.txt PROCESS get Caption,Commandline,Processid

    Now go to C:/Processlist txt file

    That will show you what you have running on your pc.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You probably want to check which processes are using the most time, as well.

    Open up task manager > processes tab > View > select collumns > put a check mark in the cpu time box > ok

    Now wait a while, and when you open up the task manager again,
    click on the cpu time header until it shows the cpu time in descending order.
    It will show you what your cpu is spending its time on.
     
  5. AzGuy79

    AzGuy79 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Arizona
    system idle process is killing me. do i need it or can i turn it off?
     
  6. jmechy

    jmechy Calmer then you are.

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    lol.

    System idle can't be turned off. Its the process that "kills time" when your computer isn't actually doing anything. It does NOT hurt your performance, just keeps your CPU running at all times (as is required by the hardware). System idle process doesn't factor into your CPU usage percentage.
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Is that what made you think your cpu useage was too high?

    Like jmechy says, it's not actual cpu usage.
     
  8. haargerman

    haargerman ayuh.

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    its the porn.
     
  9. AzGuy79

    AzGuy79 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Arizona
    great post. now gtfo of my thread.
    and i wasnt sure about the idle process, but my usage is hitting 100% on a pretty constant basis. i just cant figure out what is causing it.
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio


    If you're referring to the system idle time as usage, then you're mistaken.

    System idle time only refers to the percentage of cpu processing power that is not being taken advantage of.

    So if you have 90-some percent system idle, that just means that your cpu is coasting along waiting for something to do.
     
  11. haargerman

    haargerman ayuh.

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    :ugh: You could always buy an Apple.

    srsly though...Have you installed any new hardware? Update the drivers.
    In fact, I would try running Windows Update and rebooting.

    Update your anti-virus and run a scan, could be a trojan.

    EDIT: It might also be that your CPU is running really hot. Try going into your BIOS at startup and making sure the CPU temps aren't about 65 degrees or so. Make sure the fans aren't blocked and are staying on.
     
  12. Pobedonstev

    Pobedonstev Punch Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    weston, south florida
    im on the same exact page as the OP and this is what i want to do. i dont have a new install disc though and i didn't find one on oink. where can i download/burn one myself?
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    If you have a legit copy on there now, you would be better to fix it.

    You'll catch hell trying to update a hacked copy.
     
  14. Pobedonstev

    Pobedonstev Punch Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    weston, south florida
    there's gotta be a legitimate torrent somewhere for an xp re-format disc. i dont know where to start to fix mine
     
  15. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Post what's wrong with it.
     
  16. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    when this happened to me it was cause i deleted java runtime environmet
     

Share This Page