OSX install is huge...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Rumble, Jul 15, 2006.

1. Rumble

Rumble OT Supporter

I just got a new Macbook Pro with 2gigs of ram and I love it :bowdown:
    No heat or whine problems if you're wondering. Anyways my macbook pro has an 80 gig hard drive, and it seams 20 gigs are already full from the factory. Is there anyway to uninstall some extra parts of OSX I don't need? I could even reinstall the OS since I really have no personal files on this computer yet. Any help would be appreciated.

2. MAD PUNK inDC

MAD PUNK inDC Sic Semper Tyrannis

getting rid of any iLife packages that you don't use will cut down. Also language packages take up alot of space, at least a full gig. Dump any demo/trial software. I've gotten OSX down to around 1gb.

3. Rumble

Rumble OT Supporter

How do I do all this? I'm new to mac's, but prtty good with PC's. I realize I can find for example, garage band in the apps folder, and then drag it into the trash, but how do I know if there are more files asociated with it that I don't need anymore?

4. Raider007

Raider007 om nom nom nom

look into Appzapper. it'll find everything that has to do with the program you want to uninstall and delete it as well.
    you can delete garageband, imovie and idvd to free up alot of space (probably 10 gigs right there). also the language pack and printer drivers can be deleted as well to free up probably another 2-3 gigs.

5. MAD PUNK inDC