OS on a standard disk, 2 other drives in a RAID 1 for storage *RAID noob*

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Chris, May 10, 2008.

  1. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    My Vista machine doesnt want to boot this combo

    Im using a Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R with a 200GB WD SATA drive for the OS and I have 2 WD 1TB drives that Im trying to put into a RAID 1 with the built in Gigabyte RAID

    Ive installed the Gigabyte RAID drivers while in Windows and I tried the startup repair from the Vista disc and that didnt work either
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure the BIOS knows to boot from the non-RAID drive first.
     
  3. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    yeah, it does
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure what the problem is, then. If the RAID array isn't what you're booting from, then the worst that should happen is Windows doesn't see it. It shouldn't be affecting the operation of a completely separate disk like that.
     
  5. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    yeah, and it boots fine if I un-raid the 2 drives
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, here's a thought: Is the single disk you're trying to boot from plugged into the same controller that's running the RAID array? If so, you may need to create a second array containing only the single boot disk before it will work.
     
  7. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    yeah, I was beginning to think that myself, Im not home, but I will try that
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, let me reword: if the RAID controller is also controlling the single boot disk, you WILL need to make a second single-disk array for the boot disk. Though, I recommend running the boot disk on a separate non-RAID controller if possible, or else wiping out all the arrays and reconstructing the boot disk array first and the data disk array second. That should make it easier to tell the RAID controller which array it should show to the BIOS for bootup purposes.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't think the drives are plugged in together. Gigabyte puts just two SATA connectors in for RAID, and they are apart from the normal SATA connectors.
    Or I should say, that's how it's done on the P35 DS4 boards. It could be different on his, I'm not sure.

    But the RAID connectors do require a specific Gigabyte driver, of course.
     

Share This Page