ORM Help for a newb

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jdog12, May 4, 2008.

1. jdog12

jdog12 New Member

I'm pretty much a beginner when it comes to development. I'm wanting to do an online store with auction capabilities. I wanted to use an ORM tool rather than just writing straight SQL statements, but was wondering what you all recommend. I'm wanting to do it in ASP with C# code, and am pretty much set on doing that rather than learning something new.

I have very little experience with NHibernate and no experience with anything else. I have sample code I can use from a class project to help me along the way in implementing it. I was wondering if there is anything superior to NHibernate that will be easier for me to set up and use? Or something that would be overall better.

Also, what is a good starting point, and what should I look in to when setting this up? I remember a friend of mine saying he set up NHibernate and he had trouble with the sessions, so he told me to look up doing the sessions.

2. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

why arn't you using stored procedures?

3. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

Probably because he's a noob, like he said. Why don't you do something useful, like telling him to use stored procedures, and giving him a link where he can learn how to use them?

4. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

you perceive mallace when there was none. Had I told him to "use stored procedures" you'd jump on my for assuming something. I am asking WHY he's not using them. Now if he doesn't know about them he can say that (or preferably check google, first).

You WANT to disagree with what I say.

5. jdog12

jdog12 New Member

My db skills are lacking and I haven't had much experience with them. Like I said, I'm a noob. I took a db class and we had one stored procedure assignment and didn't go into them very much past that. Got any good links for me? I guess I better get to doing some creative googling.

6. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member