Options and suggestions... (my home network)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mycophiles, Jan 8, 2004.

  1. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Right now I have 2 computers on a wireless network in my house.

    I have 3 computers sitting around which I know I can make one computer out of. I'd like to put this computer on my network b/c I think that it would be good for storing family pictures/vids and to use as a firewall for the other computers.

    The firewall idea might be out of the question since I don't know how to set that up, but my main goal is to learn linux. I thought I might put suse on this computer and learn linux a little bit at a time when I use it every so often.

    Is this a good idea or would I just be creating more work for myself? I'm a novice at this stuff. What do yall think?
     
  2. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    you can install linux easily and iptables (firewall) will be installed with it, but setting up the computer as a router and modifying your firewall rules will be fairly advanced for someone who is just learning linux. go for it anyway and ask questions here and on comp.os.linux.setup, comp.os.linux.networking, comp.os.linux.security
     
  3. drewski_amk

    drewski_amk Guest

    if you do want to set it up as firewall or whatever, get the webmin packages/source as that gives a nice interface to changing firewall rules (IMHO)
     
  4. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ok, I'll be putting it togeather within the next two days.

    Where can I get the latest version of Suse off a fast ftp? :big grin:
     
  5. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
  6. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ok, how the fuck to I install this thing?

    Do I just copy it onto the other computer and install from the OS that's already on it or make cd's of the OS? It's 5.1 gig's large. :wtf:
     
  7. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Suse is 5 Cd's, you need to burn all of the CD's, then you can boot off the first CD to begin the installation, which is extremely simple.
     
  8. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    They are not in *.iso or *.bin format. :wtf:

    :(

    They are in a regular file structure, unzipped and unmolested. :( :wtf:
     

Share This Page