Optical Sound and Headphones?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bencorn, Jun 19, 2008.

  1. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    Is there a way to run output on both an onboard Optical out and headphones off the sound card simultaneously? Reason for this is that I have optical 5.1 surround out to my receiver for movies, but I'd also like to run a set of speakers off it into another room in the apartment so I could have music in a couple rooms at the same time. Is it possible or no?
     
  2. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    should be able to plug headphones in to green connector on back of mobo.
     
  4. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    something in my settings has to be off because I'm not getting any sound out of my headphones aside from the test "ping" sound that it does. No windows sounds, music, movies. I must have disabled headphones/speakers somehow.
     
  5. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    and thats with the optical disabled
     
  6. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    A bit more searching turns out that this is apparently a vista related problem because I can now disable one device or the other and get sound out of whichever I want but not both simultaneously as I could in XP.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    dunno what to tell you. I use 4x line-level outs, along with light-pipe and headphones in vista... and it all works fine.
     
  8. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    lol, my comp is a bitch apparently. I can still only get one or the other to run.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    possibly driver limitation.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    start > control panel > sound > manage audio devices

    Do you have a "multichannel" option or something similar?
     
  11. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    Not that I can find. I turned off exclusivity or whatever but no change, it still only allows me to play one device at a time.
     

Share This Page