GUN Optic mount for my 870

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Dumbstixlars, May 29, 2009.

  1. Dumbstixlars

    Dumbstixlars Ron Paul/AR-15/Glock/old car/Scooby/R/C croo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,379
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    ATX
    I want to mount an optic (Trijicon reflex) on my 870 as it only has the little bead that is on the barrel. However the receiver has no bolt holes and is totally smooth. Do I have any other options besides taking it to a smith and getting it drilled/tapped?
     
  2. LancerV

    LancerV Something Happened OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    49,896
    Likes Received:
    81
    Have to get it drilled tapped or get the fastfire mount

    Might be able to do it with one of those saddle things with the rail ontop, not sure how well these hold zero
     
  3. Dumbstixlars

    Dumbstixlars Ron Paul/AR-15/Glock/old car/Scooby/R/C croo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,379
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    ATX

    Yeah, not sure if those would work anyhow since I have a 6 shell holder on the side, seems like they would interfere with each other, and I don't want to give up the holder.
     
  4. LancerV

    LancerV Something Happened OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    49,896
    Likes Received:
    81
    Yea would have to be one or the other
     
  5. mattsb2000

    mattsb2000 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61,666
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Bernardino, CA
    Mine came drilled and tapped.
     
  6. yar1182

    yar1182 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura California
  7. yar1182

    yar1182 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura California
    if your going to drill and tap your 870 make sure you use a super short bit. Because it is slightly sloped near the back the bit can walk. When I had my 870 drilled and tapped for a rear ghost ring it was a real bitch.
     
  8. Dumbstixlars

    Dumbstixlars Ron Paul/AR-15/Glock/old car/Scooby/R/C croo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,379
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    ATX
    I was hoping you were going to pop in here. That Mesa Tactical setup looks good. I might go with that. Thanks!
     
  9. Rip The Jacker

    Rip The Jacker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    53,993
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. KMD

    KMD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Hoof, BC.CA
  11. yar1182

    yar1182 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura California
  12. THT

    THT The easy way is always mined

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    12,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The booby hatch
  13. Ebtromba

    Ebtromba Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    alexandria, VA
  14. Dumbstixlars

    Dumbstixlars Ron Paul/AR-15/Glock/old car/Scooby/R/C croo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,379
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    ATX
  15. yar1182

    yar1182 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura California
    Have you looked through the reflex? The lens is really blue (which is one of my pet peeves) and the dot is freaking huge and not that bright. While it is cool there is no batteries it is not a very good dot sight as far as sight picture.

    The new 42mm reflex is better but the thing is huge. It is eotech size and just as gooffy looking.
     
  16. Dumbstixlars

    Dumbstixlars Ron Paul/AR-15/Glock/old car/Scooby/R/C croo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,379
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    ATX
    Yeah I have an RX30. It is goofy looking, and as big as my Eotech. Didn't really bother me that much TBH.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page