Opinions on this network diagram *pics + Pricing*

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MP, Jun 29, 2003.

  1. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Just curious to see what fellow nerds think about this network. Drew it up for a friend. I figure if I stay with switches through the network it will be efficient enough to handle about 5mbps per computer if they were all fired up, then having it go from the 100mb all the packets/data will be sent through a 1gigbit switch hopefully resulting in NO bottle necking.

    [​IMG]

    comments?
    opinions?

    thanks

    --matt
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    BTW: Those prices are way inflated on purpose. I know I could get the switches/vpn firewall for cheaper.
     
  3. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    oh yeah, it's for 2 servers & about 36 - 40 pc's
     
  4. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
  5. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I was hoping to get a lil more serious answers in this forum.
     
  6. nrg

    nrg Guest

    whats the point of 2 switch?
    just use the first switch that the the 2 server are on, you dont need the 2nd one.
     
  7. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Also a repost. :o
     
  8. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    to lazy to go over it again.

    I've thought about only using one, but for $100 - $150 extra I can have two and use one full-dup 100mbps and the other for the servers/internet. It'll also make the network more flexible.
     
  9. Mikel

    Mikel .

    Joined:
    May 17, 2000
    Messages:
    227,916
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    38103
    I'd just get a 48 10/100 switch with 2 gigabit ports.
     
  10. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    I was actually thinking of that too. :o Just wasn't sure if he wanted two switches for convenience. :dunno:
     
  11. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,621
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    :werd:

    It might end up being cheaper too.
     
  12. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :werd: That was going to be my suggestion. Splitting to two switches is only going to increase traffic and/or cost you more money for no real purpose.

    Get a decent Cisco Catalyst and you can manipulate the ports to act as if there are two switches.. to accomplish whatever you're wanting to.
     
  13. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Thanks for the suggestions :wavey:
     
  14. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    he could VLAN them if he wants to split them up.
     
  15. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    My original idea was to make it convienent to be able to split the network up into 4 - 8 groups but if most of that could be done with just one 48port switch then that would be the ideal way to go.
     
  16. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    yup that would work well.
     

Share This Page