opinions on the pioneer avic-n2

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Specialist23, Apr 20, 2005.

  1. Specialist23

    Specialist23 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    29,607
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    minnesota
    any comments? my main concern right now is the ability to bypass the video shut off after 10mph. my installer states that it's easy, but it's not like before where you just ground a wire. from what i've heard, it's a lot more complicated. anyone have any experience with this yet? plus i obviously want opinions. btw, i'm getting for around $1400 from a retailer. my old job...;)
     
  2. TheViz

    TheViz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't got my hands on one yet, but to my knowledge it's not defeatable. It runs off the internal gyroscope. If it runs off the speed sensor wire, then all you have to do is put a switch inline on that wire.
     
  3. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,820
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    I've heard mixed things regarding the video defeat. I installed a pioneer 5700 the other day and was able to bypass the video defeat. I've heard from from other installers its teh same for the avicn2. i guess only time will tell.
     
  4. AirWaveGT

    AirWaveGT Do tiny black horses eat ice cream while dancing

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    7,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    md
    the 5700 is easy to bypass but it doesnt have the gyroscope thingy like the avicn2. supposedly it wont let you view the screen when it "feels" the car going 15mph+ or so i was told.
     
  5. Ry4n

    Ry4n OG Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    that is correct.

    my buddy just put a 5700 in his car, and it was real easy to bypass. the n2 does have the internal detection as mentioned, making it much more difficult.
     
  6. FordThumper

    FordThumper New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I heard that if you are not running the rear view camera, you could run a single RCA from the video output to the rear view camera input. Then, run a wire on a switch to emulate the car being in reverse. Then you can do the rear view camera view which has the 3/4 split with navigation. I am not sure it will go full screen though. I read this somewhere else, so Im not sure it will work. Just a thought.
     
  7. Specialist23

    Specialist23 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    29,607
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    minnesota
    well thx for the info guys, but i'm switching over to the new clarion n.i.c.e. when it comes out. and yes the avic-n2 is easily by passable with a switch.
     

Share This Page