MIL Opening a bank\brokerage account ?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by nitak, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. nitak

    nitak New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some banks and brokerage companys. Asks for your employers address and phone #. But if your in the military what would you put for that ? I'm thinking were suppose to put employers address listed on our w-2's, but what about a phone # for them ?
     
  2. NisAznMonk

    NisAznMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
  3. Karl Malone

    Karl Malone Karl Malone say what Karl Malone gotta say OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    159,702
    Likes Received:
    375
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Just use your unit phone number.
     
  4. kidhero

    kidhero not really a hero, really just a big fat phony

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you're not using usaa, you need to correct yourself
     
  5. NisAznMonk

    NisAznMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Can't open anymore accounts with USAA if you are overseas :sadwavey:
     
  6. Karl Malone

    Karl Malone Karl Malone say what Karl Malone gotta say OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    159,702
    Likes Received:
    375
    Location:
    Louisiana
    bullshit.
     
  7. NisAznMonk

    NisAznMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Wish it were true. I wanted to start a renter's insurance policy on my apartment, but I can't since I'm overseas :wtc:
     
  8. Karl Malone

    Karl Malone Karl Malone say what Karl Malone gotta say OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    159,702
    Likes Received:
    375
    Location:
    Louisiana
    That's complete bullshit. Untrue.
     
  9. NisAznMonk

    NisAznMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    So who do I talk to? They won't take my APO address to open anything new....only if I had a stateside address. Same goes for my suite-mate who tried to open a checking account.
     
  10. Karl Malone

    Karl Malone Karl Malone say what Karl Malone gotta say OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    159,702
    Likes Received:
    375
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I'll call and confirm. I've never had an issue with USAA like that.
     
  11. Fericide

    Fericide New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I had the same issue with USAA and renters insurance overseas.. wouldn't start a new policy while you were overseas but would continue to honor a policy if you had it before.

    Being overseas didn't have an effect on any of the other banking, brokerage services etc for me though, I opened a new account CC trading account etc a couple years ago, so unless their policy has changed...
     
  12. NisAznMonk

    NisAznMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    I haven't tried anything other than getting renter's insurance here, and my suite-mate wanted to open a checking account. They do honor my insurance policy on my 89 GMC truck that I started when I was still in Texas.
     

Share This Page