MIL online education

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by NisAznMonk, Mar 31, 2006.

1. NisAznMonk

NisAznMonk New Member

Anyone here take classes online? I was thinking about enrolling into a school like AIU and completing my degree there. Anyone have any comments or experience on this?

2. fintheman

fintheman I will ebay O/T!

I have been an online student before I was in the military, during, and now after.

DO NOT USE phoenix!!! I can't stress this enough. Piece of shit. Try finding something inside the state that you are at, or your home state through the state schools. The degree will be much more solidified if you have one from a state school.

3. Jyokker

Jyokker The trouser snake is very aggressive. It will corn

4. brackac

brackac Fuck all of this. OT Supporter

Better than nothing.

5. NisAznMonk

NisAznMonk New Member

So should i stick with stateside schools, or apply to these online colleges?

6. Accord

Accord New Member

www.thomasedison.edu

It's a public STATE school and doesn't have that online degree stigma like UoP, AIU, and other for-profit online universities and unlike degree programs from places like UF, FSU, UMASS, etc. you can complete 100% of your degree online and there are no residency requirements, also they're very generous as far as awarding credit for military training and whatnot. There's nothing wrong with online schools, but you want to stay away from the FOR-PROFIT ones owned by corporations and you want to make sure they have regional accredidation.

And look into SOC @ http://www.soc.aascu.org

7. darnit

darnit New Member

http://www.amu.apus.edu/index.htm
    acredited, they have a SOC agreement(American Military Public University in WV)TA pays 100% including books;you can also sell your books back after for some cash!!

8. NisAznMonk

NisAznMonk New Member

Man..any other options? The lady from AIU called me today and I was interested. I will probably lean towards these other schools though :)

9. Accord