onboard sound not working, multimedia audio controller driver???

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by s2k, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,912
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    Multimedia Audio Controller shows up with a question mark under device manager>other devices

    the motherboard is a MSI but there is no sound driver found on MSI's website

    what do i do now?
     
  2. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Who made the chipset?
    MSI is the maker, what is the model number?
     
  3. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,912
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
  4. Synner

    Synner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got a DFI board that I had the same issue with. No matter what I tried, I couldn't get the onboard sound to work....then I found the jumper to disable it.


    When all else fails.....have you checked the manual?
     
  5. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,912
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    the jumper to disable it?

    maybe thats what i need, the manual said something about using jumpers on the front audio headers if no front audio ports are used...which im not using cause my case doesnt have any front ports, but there is no jumpers on the headers....maybe thats why

    but how could some jumpers fix the no driver issue?
     
  6. Synner

    Synner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the hardware's disabled, it won't recognize a need for drivers, will it? Fix the hardware issue, which I'm almost positive is the case, and it should recognize everything. AC'97 is fully supported by windows, so you should have native Windows drivers for it.
     
  7. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    That front audio header, by default there should be jumpers already in place on pins 5+6 and 9+10. Other wise you remove them to connect the header connection from a case that has front audio.
    So as long as you haven't messed with that you should be ok there.


    Check the BIOS to make sure the AC'97 Audio is set to Auto (which is the default). This is found under the "Integrated Peripherals" listing of the BIOS.
     
  8. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,912
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    now if i buy an add on front audio ports and connect it to the audio headers, will i still be able to use the rear ports? rear for speakers, front for headphones....if thats the case, would the rear mute if i plug headphones in the front?
     
  9. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Short answer: I don't know.

    First get the sound working, then worry about adding on a front audio header.
     
  10. Synner

    Synner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    In most setups, yeah, that'd happen. No point in headphones if everything still works, right?
     
  11. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,912
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    hmmm i put the jumpers on, still no sound.....dammit
     
  12. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,912
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    finally, got it working after HOURS of searching, there is NO WHERE that say anything about realtek, even the everest application i used to find the specs of the mobo/audio etc....i had to download a "live update" shit on msi website and run it on my computer for it to tell me i need to update the realtek driver.....what a crock of shit
     

Share This Page