Older Dell Dimension 2400 updgrade questions...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by tripod, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. tripod

    tripod New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, so I wanna upgrade my elderly parents' web-surfing computer - a Dell Dimension 2400. It's roughly 4-5 years old.

    Current specs:
    Celeron 2.4 GHz processor (socket 478)
    512 MB ram
    40 GB HDD

    I'm well aware that for a few dollars more, I could buy a new fullsize PC, or - even better - a nettop (The Acer Aspire Revo with dual-core Atom looks sweet). However, the current setup is nearly adequate for their needs, and 75% of the motivation behind this project is my desire to tear something apart and put it back together.

    I've done all of the other stuff before, but my concern is the processor - I haven't ever replaced one, or done any overclocking, and don't honestly know a whole lot about that sort of thing.

    Let's say the voltage requirements of the new one are slightly different - i.e. 1.4 volts instead of 1.525. Is this a meaningful difference? If adjustments need to be made, are they automatic, or is it something I have to change in the BIOS or manually with a jumper or something?

    Also, most of the higher powered P4 processors draw more power - from 20 to 45 more watts. How do I know if the PSU is big enough?

    Thanks.
     
  2. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    if the motherboard supports the CPU, adjustments should be automatic.

    Those things came with a 250 or 300watt PSU, thats fine for any P4 that I can think of. Its a moot point, since the 2400 only supports 400 and maybe 533 non hyperthreading ( i think ) CPUs anyway.
     
  3. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    make sure you have the latest BIOS installed since that is where newer processor support will come from.
     
  4. sj23

    sj23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    It should be pretty straight forward. The majority of Dell BIOS don't allow manual voltage adjustments so the motherboard will adjust those on its own. Personally I would try upgrading the RAM to 1GB first and see how that feels speed-wise. Here are some e-doc's on that PC:

    Guide to removing and installing CPU
    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/SYSTEMS/dim2400/en/sm_en/mprcsr.htm

    Homepage of parts removal and installation
    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/SYSTEMS/dim2400/en/sm_en/parts.htm

    Tech specs
    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/SYSTEMS/dim2400/en/sm_en/specs.htm

    Documentation home for the 2400

    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/SYSTEMS/dim2400/en/index.htm
     
  5. tripod

    tripod New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool. I'll do some more reading.
     
  6. caddymac

    caddymac New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think my grandparents have the same computer. I upgraded their RAM when I had to replace their hard drive. Adding in a 1GB stick made the machine much more bearable.

    If you really want to "tear into" something, you'd probably be better off just piecing them a new machine together and putting the Dell to rest.
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I think the max memory on the 2400 is 2 gigs.
     

Share This Page