old skool, what does the turbo button on the computer do?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by c_K_c, Jul 27, 2003.

  1. c_K_c

    c_K_c Resident TranceAddict

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    austin, tejas
    :wavey:


    [i knw da answer] :o
     
  2. 00soul

    00soul halfsharkalligatorhalfman

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    28,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the overlook hotel
    i dunno, i never used it because i was afraid the bottom of the PC case would blow off
     
  3. Turboed_2

    Turboed_2 .

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    25,479
    Likes Received:
    6
    it gets like 2 extra mhz, at least it did on my 286/10. 12 mhz baby. Oh yeah.
     
  4. Clearstatik

    Clearstatik Guest

    it makes you PC go faster. DUH!
     
  5. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    it sprays NOS onto your motherboard
     
  6. Valafar

    Valafar Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Landers
    :wtcslap:
     
  7. a red heart

    a red heart Guest

    closes your cpu wastegate
     
  8. Kent

    Kent Guest

    On my first computer, it went from 4.77MHz to 8MHz when you hit the Turbo button (Ctrl-Alt-'-'). Woohoo.
     
  9. piranicon

    piranicon Guest

    hitting the turbo button makes the led display say HI or whatever you set the jumpers too.
     
  10. Subliminal012

    Subliminal012 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    56,315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    it makes your comptuer go to 3gighertz for a few seconds. YEAH
     
  11. 330R

    330R New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    28,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    how long did it take to spool up?
     
  12. Insdav3

    Insdav3 Guest

    I have it on my case right now too.... what it does is make the fans blow faster.
     
  13. Laserbeak

    Laserbeak Remember kids! Be like Billy! BEHAVE YOURSELVES!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    22,925
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    WA
    It's teh displacement on demand button! :bowdown:
     
  14. piranicon

    piranicon Guest

    it sends you to a future where people believe what the LED displays
     
  15. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    At that time, most software (specially games) was written by programmers based on a specific machine speed. When newer, faster machines came out, these software would stop working properly because it would run too fast.

    So,.. it's like a "switch" to slow down the machine for old software.
     
  16. spofoman

    spofoman Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    12,846
    Likes Received:
    0
    some games and shit would only work right with 8 mhz.. so you could turn turbo off and go from 25 or 33mhz to 8..which used to be the standard
     
  17. alexs001

    alexs001 Mawk! Mawk!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    11,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the pizza mine
  18. 1337

    1337 Forget it, Jake. It's Chinatown.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    20,243
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    mid-city, LA
    didn't it actually slow the comp down?
     
  19. c_K_c

    c_K_c Resident TranceAddict

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    austin, tejas

Share This Page