Okay, this is infuriating. v. can't access NAS

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deusexaethera, May 16, 2008.

  1. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a little NAS hard drive. It works perfectly. When I plug it into my office network, it gets an IP address and everything's swell. But when I plug it into my home network, I get nothing.

    Well, not nothing. It still gets an IP address and I can still ping it, but I can't access any fileshares and I can't see the web interface. It's gotta be something like my Linksys router is blocking traffic on whatever ports the thing uses (21, 24, 80, 139, 445, 8080, 8091), but damn if I can figure out how. When I use Angry IP scanner, it can see the thing's IP address, but it says all ports are closed. This is driving me nuts.
     
  2. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,912
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    you cant even access the web interface? what happen when you try to open the ip of the nas?
     
  3. JayC71

    JayC71 Guest

    What model is it?
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    It's not the Linksys NSLU2, is it? I have one and had a bunch of problems accessing the web interface, but I was still able to get to it to transfer files though...
     
  5. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    no chance that your local PC is blocking the NAS with a firewall or something, right?
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. I shut off my computer's firewall and the router's firewall. Not the smartest idea, but it didn't make any difference.

    2. The NAS enclosure is made by ADS Tech; it's the only NAS enclosure I've seen with a built-in Web server and BitTorrent client. It's a discontinued item now.

    3. The router is a WRT54GC (i.e. the compact version of a regular WRT54G). It was easy to configure, except for this.

    4. When I go to the NAS enclosure's IP in Firefox, it tells me it looks like a valid web address, but it couldn't establish a connection. This happens instantly, there's no waiting and trying to load anything.
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing, huh?
     
  8. Ebtromba

    Ebtromba Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    alexandria, VA
    your house was clearly erected over an ancient indian burial ground.

    burial ground for fail and aids
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl:

    The weird thing is, back when I was borrowing the neighbor's wireless, I used this router as just a switch so I could plug my computer and the NAS drive into it and play around with the NAS drive. It worked fine then.

    (sigh) Life is good so long as I know I can still go on a shooting spree.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I fixed it. I got rid of that shitty Linksys WRT54G router and installed a solid D-Link DI-514 router. My signal strength also improved.

    So much for Linksys being the be-all-end-all of networking equipment.
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I know that potroast pisses on every D-Link he sees, but I've got a DI-604 that's been rock solid since the day I plugged it in, around 2 years ago.
     
  12. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    I see you resolved the issue, but these things are pretty cheap anymore. I have this one, which has bittorrent support and functions as a print server.
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, but this one also functions as a web server. No server-side scripting, of course, but a lot can be done with JS and CGI. Anything I'd ever want to do, anyway.
     

Share This Page