SRS Okay so this is not a drugs/ drinking problem

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by AstroGirl, Jul 28, 2005.

1. AstroGirl

AstroGirl If I don't respond it's because I have severe ADD

But I need to quit smoking. Bad. Every time I do I gain weight (hand in mouth thing I guess.) Then I feel fat and think I would rather smoke than be fat :ugh: I know it doesn't make much sense.

I have been smoking for ten years now (I am 22/f) and my chest hurts all the time, running is very difficult for me, I had a lump in my mouth about 1 month ago (it has since gone away but it scared the shit out of me)

But I just can't seem to quit. I know I need to. I have tried the patches (quit for three months then ran out) the losenges (2mg, they make me sick and taste like crap) and the gum (makes me sick too.)

Any suggestions? On how to stop the "hand in mouth" I tried drinking water (which works) and holding a pen in between my fingers when I drive/ etc. But the crazings are ridiculous?!?!?

2. eligh

eligh Go To A Meeting

Yeah, I feel ya on that one. I am quitting yet again (I'm on day 4 right now, and it's been a little easier than previous times.) I guess I'm lucky because I don't mind being fat, and I'm lifting weights too.

My suggestion would be to lift weights, and run just a little if possible, and get involved in a sport. All these things will be much easier if you are not smoking and if you can enjoy them it will be a time when your cravings are gone for a little while. Don't worry about getting big muscles, you won't because you are female (do some reading in the F&N forum on OT).