Ok while installing XP it had problems installing approx 12 .dlls Please Help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hatecc, Jul 15, 2005.

  1. hatecc

    hatecc Geaux Tigers

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA/Mobile, AL
    I had "setup cannot copy ole32.dll"

    and a bunch of other dlls it couldnt copy.

    I just hit skip, and upon finishing copying files on reboot i see this: stop: c0000221 bad image checksum

    the image olethk32.dll is possibly corrupt. the header checksum does not match the computed checksum.

    I rather expected this, but what am i supposed to do?

    I formatted because my mother screwed up the computer beyond repair.

    and now its having problems installing windows, arggh what's going on?


    completely reformat

    and im 99% sure its not the cd

    i was told it could also be overheating or bad ram

    i installed another fan left it open, nope.

    tried a different stick of ram, no go.

    tried a new idea cable, nope

    And finally i tried putting the hd into my comp, took the jumper out, set it up, i can't see it?

    i need help bad
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    It sure sounds like bad media to me. Try another copy of the OS if you can.
     
  3. hatecc

    hatecc Geaux Tigers

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA/Mobile, AL
    it worked fine yesterday.

    i tried shoving the hard drive into my computer, setting it as master and then taking my hard drive out, it wouldn;t even get to the boot from disk part, it just hung.

    is it safe to assume that its dieing and needs to be RMAed?
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    bad memory, I bet.

    run memtest86.

    If that's not it, then cddrive/cable/cd/hdd.

    if memtest86 comes back clean, run seatools.
     
  5. hatecc

    hatecc Geaux Tigers

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA/Mobile, AL
    i already tried running a stick of ram i know works and it had the same errors.

    But, what about this:

    Ok, i was messing around with cables and stuff.

    Here are the two scenarios i tried:

    1)had one ide to hd, one to cd, both set to master, both connected to the ends of the ide cables Windows setup started up and it said i didn't have a hard drive.

    2) set cd rom to slave, set hd to master, had the end of the cable that the cd was on in the previous example and set the end to the d and the inner ide connection to the cd ron and i got disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter.

    so, did i do both right?, if so the hd is gone right?
     
  6. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,745
    Likes Received:
    2

Share This Page