Ok so the iPhone has been unlocked. Now someone needs to work on the activation

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Pineapple Devil, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    to where you can somehow put your own att sim card in it and bypass the activation to where you do not need the contract and rate plan
     
  2. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
  3. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
  4. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok so let me get this straight.

    i buy the phone from apple
    use something like iActivate
    put my current sim in it
    bam, it works on my current plan?
     
  5. ljp3

    ljp3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Yup but you are locked into that SIM though and AT&T, if you do the hardware hack then you can switch any SIM with a compatible network
     
  6. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    the network i dont mind b/c the only other option is tmobile and it sucks here.

    what do you mean locked into that sim? you mean the physical sim that i have right now is the only one that will ever be able to be used?

    im thinking about getting one b/c buying a phone out right for 299 is actually a deal
     
  7. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    Get the phone. Get the unlock software from the iphonesimfree.com resellers or on ebay, use your sim. Win.
     
  8. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    i'm not needing it unlocked, i just need it where i can put my att sim and and activate it w/o having to renew a contract or change my rate plan
     
  9. fuzion1029

    fuzion1029 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    if the iphone has terminal on it, can you connect to ftp and/or ssh clients?
     
  10. Ant

    Ant Serious Business.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa
    Well, the iphone doesn't come with Terminal on it, but you can "hack it" and put a version of terminal on it. You can SSH, and FTP on it as well after you install BSD Subsystem, and Open SSH.
     
  11. skolen

    skolen Guest

    Can I use my NexTel SIM and use the Sprint/NexTel network? I don't need the walkie-talkie feature so much anymore.
     
  12. Ant

    Ant Serious Business.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa
    Nope, Nextel is Iden, iphone is GSM.
     
  13. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    so can anyone confirm that if i run iActivate i can use it like any other gsm phone and put my current att sim in it and it work?
     
  14. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    yes, buy the software to unlock it
     
  15. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    I just bought the software today :o
     
  16. nat4eb

    nat4eb axe>u dota is life OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    where lol?
     
  17. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
  18. tehaviator

    tehaviator what u think badass that me

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Far East Bay, CA
    no

    rofl
     
  19. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    anyone?
     
  20. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    did you not read the link in the second post?
     
  21. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    hehe, i've got the iphonesimfree app on my phone, just waiting to get my IMEI added to the white list to get unlocked, should be in the next few hours :x:
     
  22. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Interesting. Maybe I'll grab one now for tmo.
     
  23. KenIIDX

    KenIIDX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    16,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    trash sent th eemail to us out at 4am PST. it is now 5.5 hours later and i tried to run my app and it says unauthorized cause the IMEI hasn't been put in.
    hackint0sh's forum is swamped and loading so slow.
    any luck with you guys? or im 99% sure i gave him the right IMEI number :wtc:
     
  24. KenIIDX

    KenIIDX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    16,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's fucking 2:30 am over in Sydney, Australia.
    I have a feeling this mother fucking reseller went to bed and didnt add our IMEIs to the list
     
  25. KenIIDX

    KenIIDX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    16,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's out I can run it. But the reseller has to add your phones IMEI to iphonesimfree's whitelist database so it recognizes your phone and allows you to continue the process. But I think my reseller hasn't added me yet. I was in 'group 2' which was 1250 licenses.
     

Share This Page