Ok...so I'll ask the mac crew

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Coottie, Sep 24, 2006.

1. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

I asked down in computers and programming cuz I didn't notice this forum....and that thread seems to have drifted off topic. I'm not trying to start a flame war or say that Win > mac or vice versa. I'm looking answers.

So tell me why is the mac your choice for computer?? I'm a SR CS student and debating on whether to buy a macbook or another windows based notebook and I honestly don't know which one to buy.

I like the looks of the mac but I'm concerned that all my old games and other software won't run on it. Also Dell has 1 year no interest financing which is VERY appealing to a cash strapped college student....especially when considering the price of the macbook.

So why did you buy a mac?? What keeps you interested in macs???

2. aphoric

aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

Macbook pro is my first mac. As a developer (j2ee mostly) I must say life has become much easier for me. I am also a BF2 addict, which my MBP plays better than my Dell desktop. Compare the price of a mac with a dell, same features and you might be surprised.

Now, it did take a few weeks to get used to it, and I still get hung up sometimes on something that I knew how to do with windows.

3. Coottie

Interesting...so how does programming on a mac in J2EE make you life easier. I'm not sure I understand.

Good to hear some games actually play better on the macs...that's a HUGE incentive for me cuz I gotta have my games.

4. Apothis

Apothis New Member