Ok, lets cut the bull**** - Norton vs. AVG antivirus

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Doc Brown, May 23, 2007.

  1. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've been hearing so many people slam Norton Antivirus, that I decided to do a careful comparison
    between Norton and AVG, one of the more popular antivirus programs.


    I have 163gb of data spanned across 3 hard drives.
    I have a 4th hard drive, but it only has movies on it and both applications
    took less than 10 seconds to scan the drive.

    In the end, AVG took 10 minutes longer to scan the 4 drives.
    It took twice as much memory to do so.
    And the cpu usage was somewhere around 10% - 20% more than Norton used.

    Neither of the two found any viruses on my machine.


    Norton scan time - 14:19
    Resources - Pinned at around 19.5 mb for entire scan

    Cpu usage - 5% - 51%
    Overview - Cpu usage was mostly in the 20%-38% range, with anything over 40%
    only lasting a second or two.



    AVG - 24:20
    Resources - 36mb - 49mb

    Cpu Usage - 6% - 59%
    Overview - Cpu usage was much worse than Norton.
    Long stretches of the long scan were in the 40% - 53% range.

    Edit*
    I also did a check on which program uses the most memory during normal non-scan usage.

    AVG used 38mb, while Norton only used 25mb.




    .
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2007
  2. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio

    i've been using norton corporate edition for years on a variety of computers from a pentium II 233mhz to an amd athlon64 3000+

    i've never had trouble with it at all, it seems to use very little system resources.

    i've used avg before also and had good results with it also...
     
  3. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Where are you getting your memory usage numbers? From the .exe in task manager?

    From my experience, every time I've uninstalled Norton, the system's total memory usage has gone way down and system performance has improved dramatically. Would you rather have the on-demand scan run faster or would you rather the system run faster the other 99% of the time when you're actually running applications? Adding AVG causes no such slowdown.
     
  4. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Norton and Symantec are not the same program.

    Since doc says "Norton" I take that to mean the yellow box crap aimed at home users.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I forgot to add that in. Once the machine is up and running, Norton uses 15mb for the
    real time scan, and AVG uses just over 1mb.

    So if 14mb is slowing down your machine, maybe it's time for an upgrade?
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm using Norton as well.
     
  7. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Again, where are you getting those numbers? Boot Windows and look at the memory used. Uninstall Norton, reboot, and look again. It goes down by a lot more than 15MB.

    It doesn't just slow down ancient computers. Even a P4 with a gig of RAM (still millions of those out there) will run noticeably better without that yellow ball and chain around its leg.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Device manager gives you a real time running of your memory usage as well as cpu usage.
    The performance monitor in administrative tools, only gives you an averaging.

    As far as the memory usage going down by such large numbers after an uninstall,
    I'd have to see it.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    This just keeps getting better and better, lol!


    This took me a while because I rebooted so many times.

    First, I did a reboot like you recommended.
    Memory usage was 335mb.
    I deleted Norton, and rebooted.
    Memory usage was 310mb.

    Then I reinstalled Norton again, and rebooted.
    Once again, the memory usage was at 335mb.
    Norton uses 25mb on my system.

    Then I uninstalled AVG and rebooted.
    Uh oh! My memory usage was now 297mb.
    AVG actually uses 38mb while running.
    AVG uses more than Norton!

    (now added to first post)
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Your experiment directly contradicts with what I have seen on hundreds of machines. I will never run norton after seeing that crap.
     
  11. KiddX

    KiddX Tigth as Piston In Ferrari Engine!

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    13,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. George, Utah
    This is true for me as well.
     
  12. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    :werd: Uninstalling Norton or McAfee and replacing it with AVG is the magic elixir of PCs. Doing it fixes so many weird problems and improves system performance instantly.
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just on my machines alone, I have had Norton running on probably 3 or 4 dozen Windows XP installs, or more.
    I have never, ever, had issues like you claim.
    And this is across dozens of hardware configurations.

    This is not to mention a fairly sizable amount of computers I have set up for others.
    WIth few exceptions, they are all running Norton.

    The fact is, that the claims of AVG being more efficient are false.

    And as far as conflicts with Norton go, I haven't seen them.
     
  14. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Great you've compared the CPU and Memory usage.
    But that means very little.

    Why don't you see how effect they are at finding viruses already inplace and also detecting /blocking viruses before they can get installed.
    That is a real test of an anti-virus.
     
  15. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    for the enterprise, Trend Micro is still the best IMO
     
  16. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl

    and the point is?


    fact is, AVG will catch everything while norton/mcaffee doesn't

    i'll take a little bit higher cpu and ram usage over not getting everything
     
  17. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    whoops, my bad, i ment to say symantec corporate client. never had trouble with that

    norton sucks, kills my memory
     
  18. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    In that 163gb I mentioned, is quite a bit of data that has been backed up from one hard drive
    to another, and from one Windows install to another, over the course of @5 years.

    If AVG is so much better, why didn't it catch anything?

    The answer is that Norton's real time scanner has prevented anything from installing.

    It sounds like you guys have more issues on your computers than the Antivirus.

    Maybe you guys should run some spyware scans once in a while.:mamoru:
     
  19. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    AVG didn't find any viruses on my machine.
    And trust me when I tell you, I've visited my share of warez/hacker/porn sites.:mamoru:
     
  20. Moistfly

    Moistfly Anal Bum Cover

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    12,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas

    That's what we use, never had a problem with it :o
     
  21. AO

    AO New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wyd
    In a corporate environment it is fine. For home users it is a pita. Norton hooks into the registry until it is a mess of spaghetti. Install Norton Internet Security on a home computer then throw in AOL and see if you don't have proxy problems.

    Ever get rid of a problem, then reboot and have Norton reinstall the virus? I have.

    When a home user brings me their machine to clean up, I remove the drive, slave it to my machine then run Norton on it from anywhere between 2 and 24x5. No, the machine that ran for 5 days didn't survive the cleaning, the user's profile was trashed, it could not even be accessed.

    You couldn't give me Norton or McAfee. I refuse to install them. I tell my users that if they have Norton and AOL on their machines, they might as well forget it because I'm not working on it. (This is usually after I have spent a day or two cleaning their machines.)
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Zing!

    Either that, or they think AVG is more effective because it screams and yells whenever it finds anything, whereas Symantec (and dare I say it, even Norton Antivirus) just shuts up and does its fucking job. The squeaky wheel gets the subscription payment, as they say.
     
  23. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    WE ARE NOT TALKING ABOUT NORTON INTERNET SECURITY.

    EVERYBODY agrees that NIS is a piece of shit. I know you've always beaten the horse this way, but it's dead and half rotted away. Let it go.
     
  24. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    No. Too many times I have seen AVG catch something that Symantec CORP does not.

    Considering that AVG is FREE and Symantec is NOT, then you're full of shit with your payment theory.

    ZING!
     
  25. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    how much you wanna bet i can make klez.h walk right through a symantec/norton "secured" system, and avg FREE will catch it?

    :mamoru:
     

Share This Page