WEB ok... ive seen this done and i want this... RSS autopost?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Yuppy, Jan 31, 2008.

  1. Yuppy

    Yuppy Have a seat right there....

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    THE Hawkeye Nation
    im not sure how possible this is.... but i was wondering if there was a way to create a bot or something (i have no idea about bots... but id give it a whirl... and know little about RSS) to create a subforum on my board that I could add either just one feed, or multiple feeds to. that way my board would have topics about news, then link to the article.

    my competitor.... Glurb.com has the des moines register somehow autoposting in a subforum on their site. i think it has something to do with their RSS. How can I do this? Is there a guide out there... im not even sure if I am looking for the right thing.... since ive only been learning about code for like 3 weeks.:eek4:

    It would be sweet to wake up. have new posts from the Feed already on my site so i could read the stories then let my userbase(which is small) comment on them. instead of posting them myself.
     
  2. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    There are PHPBB mods that will take an RSS feed and create threads of them ... there was a whole site that was dedicated to something like this .. not sure if there is a PHPBB3 version yet ...
     
  3. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND
    well there should be nothing to it really....

    It'd just take parsing out the XML and saving the appropriate information in the appropriate tables. Biggest thing is to make sure you're hitting all the necessary tables with the information. Very likely a lot of relational tables and if one is missing a piece of the data it won't show up.
     
  4. Yuppy

    Yuppy Have a seat right there....

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    THE Hawkeye Nation
    yea ive googled it, im not really sure which one works for this. some seem like they just add my site to their RSS. . .

    if one of you wants to check out (my competitor's site) glurb.com, its got subforums for each town with a little RSS feed for em all.... i want to jack that for my site.

    http://hideidentity.info/index.php?...2MTI2YTExMmY1NmU1MDVhZGZkMzc2ZTUwJmFtcDtmPTM3

    thats what i was thinking....


    to avoid reggin. you just gotta go

    and what the fuck, how do i get this guy to stop stealing my posts... lol

    http://hideidentity.info/index.php?q=aHR0cDovL3d3dy5nbHVyYi5jb20vbG9jYWwvc2hvd3RocmVhZC5waHA%2FdD0xNDAyNQ%3D%3D



    oh shit, these guys are stealing the quality post from my site.... @ glurb.com

    what can i do to start denying access to him
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2008
  5. GotVtec

    GotVtec 8th World Wonder

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  6. trev.the.enemy

    trev.the.enemy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10,939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Get vBulletin.

    I have that on my forum as well, 'cept for yahoo news.
     
  7. Yuppy

    Yuppy Have a seat right there....

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    THE Hawkeye Nation
    hmm i might have to... i might try out the demo tonight.

    vbulliten seems to have a lot of features. is it easier to mod?
     
  8. Comtrad

    Comtrad Guest

    oh hell yes.
     
  9. Yuppy

    Yuppy Have a seat right there....

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    THE Hawkeye Nation
    and can i transfer my current users/posts possibly? phpbb3
     
  10. Comtrad

    Comtrad Guest

    I'm not sure. I would assume you just need to transfer the database, however you should go onto a VBulletin forum site and just make sure that it can be done.


    PS. Thank you for this post, as I have an IPB board and didn't realize you could do that until now. Now I have it on my board too. lol
     
  11. Yuppy

    Yuppy Have a seat right there....

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    THE Hawkeye Nation
    you want to pm link?

    id love to check it out....
     
  12. Comtrad

    Comtrad Guest

  13. Yuppy

    Yuppy Have a seat right there....

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    THE Hawkeye Nation
    so the newsection is what you set up?

    (newsdesk)?
     
  14. Comtrad

    Comtrad Guest

    Yeah, it automatically takes the RSS and creates topics through whatever user you specify.

    I added a general news, and then in each sub forum, news for that specific topic.
     
  15. Robb

    Robb Guest

    I want that too, cant find a link to a phpbb2 mod though
     
  16. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    I created one for you.
     
  17. trev.the.enemy

    trev.the.enemy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10,939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    yes. when you buy vbulletin, there's another product in there to convert the database file into vbulletin IIRC.

    if not, just google phpbb3 to vbulletin or something.
     
  18. Robb

    Robb Guest

    appreciate it :bigthumb:
     
  19. copiertalk

    copiertalk Secure Our Borders! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    west texas
    You can download impex from vb and convert the database over.

    You will have to ask them about the passwords. with phpbb3 there is a new method to store passwords and I remember they were several discussions on it.
     
  20. Yahdude

    Yahdude New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PC, UT
    there is also a rss autoposter for mybb, free forums and free autoposter.
     
  21. LyFeWoRx

    LyFeWoRx 2 + 2 = 4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, New York
    there is a file to convert the phpbb database to vbulletin. Also vbulletin 3.6.+ comes with an RSS module which allows a cron job to run every time a user on the website. You can set the bot to autopost every 10 minutes and not duplicate the feed, if the feed is duplicate it will skip over.
     
  22. Vtec44

    Vtec44 OG!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    I also have it running on my vB forum. It works great!
     

Share This Page