Ohhhhh, Another annoying question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by KungFool7, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figure if I help answer 3 questions for every 1 I ask on here, i'm good.


    Anyways...

    Windows XP home Edition

    Main user is set up as an admin, but cannot install programs. Also, cntrl+alt+delete is disabled.


    Since xp home doesnt have a group policy editor, what is going on? where do I go to check permissions for installing programs and using the task manager?

    and it's not permissions to a certain location...any program I try to install, I get an error right away saying it's been disabled by my administrator.
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Maybe it's a glitch.

    Try a new user account?

    :dunno:
     
  3. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    i tried 2 user accounts that had admin settings and I tried the admin account in safe mode.

    I'm not sure if you can install programs in safe mode, so no idea there.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    If it's an older install, you could try a repair.

    If it's a newer one, you could just wipe it and try again.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    x2 on trying a repair.
     
  6. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Thats strange, I'm assuming you don't have much on there since you can't install anything ;) So I would just reinstall on a fresh format and see if that fixes the problem.
     

Share This Page