Office IT People: KILL THE PC. SAVE YOURSELVES.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Peyomp, Jan 31, 2007.

1. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

2. Doc Brown

Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

I like that. :cool:

You could make a pretty inexpensive home network with a few thin desktops and a basic server.

3. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

Yeah, I want one rigged up above the shitter, on a swivel.

4. Doc Brown

wtf? :mamoru:

5. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

Sos I can pull it round real nice like.

6. Doc Brown

I wasn't asking about what you do with your weener :squint:

7. mace

mace i don't read

can this setup use windows?

windows embedded with just remote desktop? is that how this works?

8. EvilSS

EvilSS New Member

As someone who actually does this for a living (I'm a consultant for a large Citrix VAR) I have an issue with thin clients vs PC's. My main issue with them is that they cost as much (if not more) than a cheap Dell PC. The hardware may last longer but they tend to get made obsolete before the hardware dies by client upgrades. Plus the management software for most of the brands of thin-clients costs extra.

Personally, I'm a fan of using cheap PC's as thin clients since they are more flexible.

9. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

Citrix stuff is quite expensive. I would not recommend their shite.

My post was based on Sun's stuff. You buy some $250 thin clients, and a server running solaris. The server includes the software you need to redirect to your Windows Server Terminal Services stuff via Remote Desktop.

10. EvilSS

EvilSS New Member