Office 2008, no VB or statistical package?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by RedGoober4Life, Feb 9, 2008.

  1. RedGoober4Life

    RedGoober4Life New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DTW
    Are they for reals? :ugh:

    So now there are two shitty spreadsheet programs for Macs, Numbers and Excel 2008? What am I going to do, make festive recipe cards for a living?
     
  2. dbman96

    dbman96 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    49,996
    Likes Received:
    6
    don't you know you're not supposed to be doing "real" work on your mac? nobody uses VB or statistics when they're blogging at Starbucks. :squint:
     
  3. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    :werd:
     
  4. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,772
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    they took out stats and VB and gave you extra gay and fail. what are you complaining about?
     
  5. RedGoober4Life

    RedGoober4Life New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DTW
    Oh borther.

    Essentially my mac is useless to me. :(
     
  6. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    bootcamp / parallels
     
  7. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    or upgrade to intel so that you can.
     
  8. dbman96

    dbman96 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    49,996
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've been running '07 from within Parallels and/or Fusion for quite some time. It works just great.
     
  9. bovine

    bovine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Enjoy your 6-8 gig VMWare virtual HD for the use of a single program. :hs:

    I guess you could use Matlab for Mac for any stat/plot applications, but it's probably overkill for almost anyone who used Excel VB for stat/plot.
     
  10. RedGoober4Life

    RedGoober4Life New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DTW
    I have been using Matlab to avoid Excel.

    I would connect to my schools citrix server, but I can't even do that. Apparently there's a known error for mac users and ica. Frustrating.
     

Share This Page