MIL OCS: Navy vs. Air Forces

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by gsxspeeddemon, Oct 23, 2007.

1. gsxspeeddemon

gsxspeeddemon New Member

What are the advantages and disadvantages of both. I graduated from college with a degree in Finance and am considering joining, however I cannot make up my mind on which one.

2. gsxspeeddemon

gsxspeeddemon New Member

To be honest i am not sure. I graduated in may and dont really want to go to get my MBA yet, so i am thinking about military service. I really dont like the idea of joining the military to do office work. Then again i want to do something that i could use when i get out.

3. kazimer

kazimer New Member

typically you dont become an officer if you dont want to have a desk job.
    im not in the navy or air force so i cant completely vouch for the desk job thing

are you a perfect physical specimen? you could try for a pilot slot

4. gsxspeeddemon

gsxspeeddemon New Member

I qualify physically. However i was told that if you dont already have a pilot license, there is little to no chance of becoming a pilot.

The reason I looked into being an officer is that it would look better on paper, and would make it easier for me to get a job when i got out.

5. jmx2323

jmx2323 OT Supporter

well AF goes to OTS not ocs and its no fucking summer camp.

I will getting in the AF as an officer is not easy and takes over a year from application to leaving for OTS. if your going going for a rated job (pilot, Navigator, or air battle manager) selections rates go down drastically to somewhere in the area of 30% rated is about 45-50%. If your not over 3.0 gpa you will need good AFOQT scores and some good letters of reccomendation.

any more questions about the AF process, just aski, i went thought it over a year ago and im in now

6. jmx2323

jmx2323 OT Supporter

people that just want the resume builder being an officer can be...usually dont make it out of OTS. We had a few of those at when I went through.

7. DynaGlide