oc'ing 2600+ barton on a7n8x-e deluxe

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by anfrey, May 1, 2004.

  1. anfrey

    anfrey ɹǝƃuoɯǝɔɐǝd

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gamehendge
    so i'm a total noob to overclocking, but am interested in making my box run faster.

    current setup:
    asus a7n8x-e deluxe
    athlon xp 2600+ barton
    zalman CNPS7000A-Cu heatsink
    1gb geil golden dragon pc-3200 ddr (one pair 512mb sticks)
    asus geforce fx5200
    3 intake fans (2 front, 1 window)
    3 exhaust fans (2 rear, 1 top)

    cpu temp, according to asus probe, likes to stay ~51-53 celcius.
    case temps at ~30 celcius

    it's running at the stock 1921.02MHz...
    system clock @ 167.05MHz, system bus @ 334.09MHz, 11.5 multiplier


    so... what do i do?
     
  2. andymodem

    andymodem Ambitious, but rubbish.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Is that a desktop Barton, or a mobile Barton?

    Oh, and ditch that fx5200, I made the mistake of buying that, returned it the next day and got a Radeon 9800PRO which i should have done from the start. :o
     
  3. anfrey

    anfrey ɹǝƃuoɯǝɔɐǝd

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gamehendge
    desktop barton

    i cant' afford another video card, but you're right, this one is below my expectations
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    51 degrees is pretty hot for a Zalman cooler. Are you using a very thin layer of Arctic Silver?

    Anyway, to OC, first make sure that you can check the temperature of the CPU through windows (or whatever OS you use). Then start turning up the multiplier or the FSB (not sure which you should do first or which works better, search around), then test it to make sure it runs stably at that speed.
     
  5. anfrey

    anfrey ɹǝƃuoɯǝɔɐǝd

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gamehendge
    yes, i'm using arctic silver, and a very thin layer of it.

    my fsb is at 166 right now. not sure about the multiplier, i just chose the "aggressive" setting in my bios
     
  6. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    is that 51c idle or 51c under load? If its idle, dont even considering overclocking till you have temps under control....if its load....well thats still a little high
     
  7. anfrey

    anfrey ɹǝƃuoɯǝɔɐǝd

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gamehendge
    it doesn't seem to get any hotter under load. i just ran a whole lot of heavy applications, and it jumped to 52 and stayed there
     
  8. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you consider to be "heavy applications"?
     
  9. anfrey

    anfrey ɹǝƃuoɯǝɔɐǝd

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gamehendge
    ok, so they're probably not heavy compard to what u guys do...

    but i started photoshop cs, dreamweaver mx, outlook express word 2003, dc++ (all at the same time) while i was running an ad-aware scan and a spybot s&d scan.

    i couldn't think of anything else to test out. i shouold've probably started a game as well
     
  10. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats not "load", thats maybe 3 total minutes of 100% CPU usage. Download Toast, Prime95, or Folding at Home and run one of those for half an hour THEN tell me your load temps
     
  11. anfrey

    anfrey ɹǝƃuoɯǝɔɐǝd

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gamehendge
    okay, where do i sign up?
     
  12. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    ???
     
  13. andymodem

    andymodem Ambitious, but rubbish.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Try upping the FSB to 200

    Probably can't do much, cause the desktop chips are locked, the mobile chips are unlocked.

    Edit: FYI the 9800pro's at Circuit city are 249 with 50 mail in rebate.
     
  14. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Depends how old the chip is. They only started locking them in september or october IIRC (my 2500+ was purchased at the end of September and it's unlocked).
     
  15. anfrey

    anfrey ɹǝƃuoɯǝɔɐǝd

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gamehendge
    i purchased it 5 months ago
     

Share This Page