OC question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by sowapowa, Jan 8, 2005.

  1. sowapowa

    sowapowa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am just starting to learn how to OC.

    amd64 3200+ newcastle
    asus k8v se deluxe mobo bios 1004.006
    1gb corsair value select pc3200
    geforce ti4400 (i know its poo so im saving up for a geforce 6000 series agp)

    Is it better to have the rams fsb running at the same speed of the cpu fsb and sacrifice overall clock speed or underclock ram and make a higher clock speed?

    example: cpu @ 2.64Ghz=11x240HTT, ram @ 188Mhz OR
    cpu @ 2.40Ghz=11x220HTT, ram @ 220Mhz

    Thanks.
     
  2. Penetration

    Penetration OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    19,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MMM my ding ding dong
    cpu @ 2.40Ghz=11x220HTT, ram @ 220Mhz would be faster. If your ram is only @ 188, then the rest of your system will suffer due to it only being able to process @188mhz. Always keep the RAM and FSB @ 1:1 even if it results in a lower CPU clock
     
  3. kl

    kl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    It really depends on what you want to do with it. Are you running something memory intensive or CPU intensive? If you're not sure, you can always watch your task manager. Or try both, and see which you like better.

    BTW, how do you like that CPU/MB combo? I'm thinking of using those for my next system upgrade.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you are running single channel... therefore you are highly dependent on your memory clock. Even in DC it's better to have a higher memory bandwidth, but in SC it's even moreso...

    Definitely crank that FSB up at the sacrifice of multiplier.
     
  5. sowapowa

    sowapowa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the responses.

    As for the setup, I really like this amd64 3200 newcastle. It has less cache than a winchester but that only allows for better overclock. The asus k8v se deluxe is decent but i would trade for a nF3 chipset if i could. I've read that nf3 can run higher fsb on overclocks than VIA.

    I would suggest staying away from asus k8v se deluxe. It does not have agp/pci lock so overclocking is limit right off the bat. Definitely try to get a mobo with agp/pci lock if you are going to overclock.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    i agree, the k8v was not very good for o/c in my experience. The MSI K8N Neo2, however.... but that's 939.
     

Share This Page