OC problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 0mega, Nov 21, 2007.

  1. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I installed another 2GB of Ram(total of 4 now) and an 8800GT today. On the first boot up with the new components my system was unstable and froze.

    I had a Q6600 @ 3.2ghz and it was stable before this. I tried bumping up the vcore up to 1.4v from 1.36, but I still couldn't get things stable. So I decreased the FSB back to 333 to get 3.0ghz and was able to turn the vcore all the way down to 1.3v and things are stable again. Anyone have an idea of what happened?

    Q6600
    Giga P35-DS4
    4GB Corsair ddr2
     
  2. lolerskates

    lolerskates New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    take the 2 gig of ram out and see what happens, the way i understand it when you up the fsb it ups the speed of the ram as well and maybe it can't handle your fsb speed
     
  3. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    You were right about the ram, evidently my mobo auto changes the clock when I add more, so I'll just have to manually do it.
     
  4. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I think it was the memory divider. I slowed it down and now things are stable with the extra ram.
     
  5. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    just run the mem at 1:1
     

Share This Page