nws question........ but tecnical anyway

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by sultry33, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. sultry33

    sultry33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    in the search bar of your comp say goggle search does a word have to be typed in for it to search...... reason saw rude word and apparently it has just appeared?? any ideas?
     
  2. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    a rude word "just appeared" in your search bar?

    does anyone else use the PC?
     
  3. sultry33

    sultry33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    no just him and me and he used it before me..

    history was clear as was cookies but google bar said c*nt so am bit worried!
     
  4. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    it saves your searches separately of history and cookies. sounds like someone was looking up the porn.
     
  5. sultry33

    sultry33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for clearing that up, so no other way it could get there then?
     
  6. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    none. someone physically typed the word into a form box and pressed enter.
     
  7. sultry33

    sultry33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks just wanted make sure....
     
  8. sultry33

    sultry33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    mmm he denies it says that maybe when pop ups appeared that it got wrote in there by some virus or somthing...

    strange eh:eek3:
     
  9. Nefarious77

    Nefarious77 Guest

    It sounds like someone got busted and is trying to cover their butt. Pop-ups can not do that.
     
  10. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Unless there is some sort of spyware trying to drive up site rankings but filling in web search forms in the background and submitting them, someone typed it in.

    To remove them you can hold down the shift key and press delete when the drop down box appears and the word(s) are highlighted.
     
  11. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no popup can that do that. A popup is nothing more than an html window that pops up when called by the visiting page or program. A popup displays information, it does not enter information into your browser.
     
  12. couchlock

    couchlock OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    40,788
    Likes Received:
    288
    Location:
    The Highway
    you were watching the porn!
     
  13. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Not to mention why would a pop-up put Cunt in the search bar? If anything, it would just send the browser to the website the pop-up was advertising if it could do that.

    I say kick him in the nutz for being a tard.
     
  14. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,446
    Likes Received:
    12
    ROFL on the investigative antics toward's their SO's Internet browsing habits...

    I see there's a lack of trust...
     
  15. Kingfisher

    Kingfisher Keepin L's lit

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California

Share This Page