Nvidia Stripe hard drive question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Zenbean, Jul 22, 2007.

  1. Zenbean

    Zenbean New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie, Ontario
    I have a 500 gig NVIDIA Stripe drive that is splitting to a C drive and a D drive. I want to allocate more space to the C drive, as it was set up for 10 megs, and my D drive has 490 megs. How do I go about that?
     
  2. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    2 solutions:

    1) backup both partitions. Format and repartition the drive, restore both partitions.

    2) Partitionmagic can do this without whiping the drives and starting clean. However, only a damned fool would attempt this without a backup.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

    nVidia FAID ahahahajahahahahahahahahahahahahahaaa


    STRIPE ahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahhaha


    multiple paritions Ahahahahahahahahahahahhahahah


    you fail at life.
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You have a RAID 5 setup?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    a STRIPE would typically refer to level-0.
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I kind of assumed no one was that stupid as to RAID-0 anything aside from possibly a temp drive.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you know what they say about people that assume :mamoru:

    I have learned to always think the worst, and you'll usually be right.
     
  8. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    I might have misunderstood.
    He says it is a 'a 500 gig NVIDIA Stripe drive' but then goes to say 'it was set up for 10 megs, and my D drive has 490 megs'
    I kind of thought that someone with experience wouldn't confuse megs for gigs. I assumed it was an old drive, possibly some old ass brand name. I figured that it was an old 500 meg drive that had a brand name of 'Nvidia Stripe Drive'.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :ugh: I hope you're joking because

    a) if you're not joking, you're a dumbass
    b) if you were joking, it wasn't funny, you're a dumbass
     

Share This Page