"NTLDR IS MISSING" error message encountered during Windows XP boot.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Necromancer, Sep 3, 2005.

  1. Necromancer

    Necromancer Guest

    I know I dont have an AV but I really need some help.

    Ok well I bought a new hard drive for a dell I have with a curropted hard drive. I went out and bought the exact replacement becuase its the cheapest. Western digital 80gb.

    So I install it, no problem. Set up the hard drive and once again no problem. Heres where the problems start.

    I reboot the computer and but in the windows xp professional boot disk (if there are any better OS's please do tell) and it comes up with "NTLDR IS MISSING PRESS ANY KEY TO RESTART" So I do... about 10 times. Nothing. So I get on the western digital site and look from some technical information. I found what I need to know... but completely dont understand it.

    Can someone please translate this to 'I dont know anything about computers language'?

    http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc...li=&p_topview=1
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You need to go into the BIOS (probably del on boot) and change the boot order so it boots the CDROM first.
     
  3. Necromancer

    Necromancer Guest

    Ive read you have to press f2 or something to get into BIOS before windows boots after the dell screen, but I jsut installed to hard drive and formatted it using the boot up disc it came with.

    Heres what happens when I start the PC:

    Black screen
    White flashing curser for about 10-15 seconds

    NTLDR is missing
    Press cntl+alt+del to restart
     
  4. Necromancer

    Necromancer Guest

    Well actually the dell logo came on for a split second but then went to the white flashing curser.

    EDIT///


    All right I made the cd rom first priority but still comes up the NTLDR is missing even with the xp disc in
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2005
  5. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    sure you don't have a floppy in the drive?
     
  6. Necromancer

    Necromancer Guest

    Well I figured it out. I went to the setup menu (hold f2 at boot) then set the cd room priority first. Then put in the windows boot cd. Here was the problem, i was using a burnt version, so i tried the reinstall version for my other dell and now its setting up.

    I really want to try a different OS, anyone have any cheap recommendations?
     
  7. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Linux

    All it will cost you is the price of the cds you burn it on. Can't get much cheaper than that :)

    I have been using Fedora Core 4.

    You can also try a live CD like knoppix
     
  8. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    You need a bootable install disk, to install XP without using the Dell "wipe" CD as I like to call them.
     
  9. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV

Share This Page