SRS Now is a good time to buy?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Maffy29, Jul 3, 2009.

1. Maffy29

Maffy29 Active Member

So people keep telling me that now is a good time to buy a house with all the stuff the government is offering? Here are my pros and cons:

PROS:
    Just promoted at my federal IT job to GS-11
    $0 debt
    Single
    First time home buyer
    Government incentives

CONS:
    Wary of a big and long financial commitment
    Single
    No more promotion opportunities at work. Would have to go outside the organization for a GS-12 promotion (probably somewhere in DC area).

If I were to buy, it would be in the SW PA area (I work in downtown Pittsburgh).

2. StopDrop&LOL

StopDrop&LOL "Where The Elite Become Champions"

I am contiplating the same thing. I am a teacher, single, but in debt... not that much. Minus student loans, im only 2k in debt. I'll probably hold off for another year or two.

I heard from some people on these boards that if you wait longer, you will be able to find better deals as real estate is expected to continue to drop. How relevant that is, i don't know. Just something i read in another thread.

3. Vermincelli

Vermincelli Banned

it's a toss up.

We are having another wave of foreclosures so prices are still plummeting but as prices continue to tank and our government fucking up the economy, you are going to see interest rates go up.

So the question is, will the price drops be more than what the higher interest rates will cost or should you go for one now before rates go up and just deal with the loss of value and hope that things level off and that the housing prices go back over market again.

4. huntz0r

huntz0r New Member

I'm buying now, I have a couple small chunks of debt but next year's tax kickback will take care of them. After that I will actually be able to save more money than I can now in my cheap apartment.